So I Bought a PB G3 Wallstreet... (Upgrade questions)

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by Silentwave, Nov 24, 2006.

  1. Silentwave macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    May 26, 2006
    Location:
    Gainesville, FL
    #1
    ...Basically because it looked cool, and a mentor of mine once had one so I thought I'd find one on the cheap and get it. So I Did. I know I would have been better off with a Pismo, but they're a lot more expensive. And I don't like Bronze. I may just get a Pismo now, and give this one to my father, who needs a faster old mac to run some old music programs.

    It's a Wallstreet (not sure I or II though) 233MHz.

    I think I want to
    a) Upgrade RAM (think it's stock)- How much do you think I should add?
    b) possibly upgrade HD
    c) Install OS X (would you all suggest 10.1 or 10.2 for best speed)
    d) what sort of processor upgrade cards can I install? There used to be several models, but now they seem to have dried up. Any sources besides OWC?

    What sort of advice do you have to give me? Any tips or ideas are appreciated.
     
  2. polevault139 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2006
    Location:
    Illinois
    #2
    A) at least one gig
    B)Im not really sure how easy it is to access the HDD on those?
    C) I definitely suggest 10.3. 10.1 and 10.2 were buggy
    D)Sorry can't help you on this one
     
  3. wildmac macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2003
    #3
    Check here for your ancient laptop upgrade needs...

    http://eshop.macsales.com/MyOWC/Models.cfm?TI=0311

    not affiliated with them, they just seem like the best place to get this stuff...
     
  4. Maxwell Smart macrumors 6502a

    Maxwell Smart

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2006
    #4
    You can pop in a G4 for a processor upgrade, but it's really not worth it since it's lacking USB and firewire, better to get a pismo or lombard and upgrade that. As for RAM, you can max it out at 512MB (I am 99% sure). For OS choice, since there is no built in USB, the max you can go to is OS X 10.2.8. I would suggest that you pop in a harddrive with panther on it, or use Xpostfacto to install it, because panther would be best for that machine once the RAM was upgraded. Good luck.
     
  5. Silentwave thread starter macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    May 26, 2006
    Location:
    Gainesville, FL
    #5
    Thanks, Maxwell!

    I may just up the RAM a bit and give it to my father. He's got a broken-down clone running OS 7 or OS 8, but it's only 133mhz or something, and it is a desktop :p
     
  6. lamina macrumors 68000

    lamina

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2006
    Location:
    From Canada, living in Seoul
    #6
    Can you post a picture of your new acquisition? :)
     
  7. Maxwell Smart macrumors 6502a

    Maxwell Smart

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2006
    #7
    Yeah, and if you absolutely need classic, you can pop in some more RAM and put on 9.2.2. That would probably make a great classic machine for your dad.
     
  8. Silentwave thread starter macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    May 26, 2006
    Location:
    Gainesville, FL
    #8
    Pics will be posted once it arrives :)

    Shipped today.

    It's still running OS 8 or 9 right now, so I wouldn't need to do anything :p

    It'll tide him over until he can afford a Mac Pro and the new software he needs.

    I'm going to go after a Pismo now.
     
  9. Silentwave thread starter macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    May 26, 2006
    Location:
    Gainesville, FL
    #9
    Well, it arrived today. It seems i'm a bit better off than I anticipated. The system has 160mb RAM installed, and I took it apart and put it back together to see how the upgrade would go and it looks pretty good. It works again :) I'll be upping it to 384mb ram I think. cpu upgrades, not now, but maybe down the line for my dad.... the 500mhz g3 at OWC is about 200 bucks.

    i've bought the OS9 CD and i'll probably pick up a copy of Jaguar too.

    meanwhile my personal Pismo 400mhz with 12GB HD, os9, and 192mb RAM will be here soon. I got it for cheap enough that I won't mind at all picking up more RAM for it (want to get up to 512 minimum, maybe 768mb), possibly a larger HD (it might work in the wallstreet), and OS X for it. I'm thinking panther or maybe tiger.

    a processor upgrade down the line to a 500mhz g4 or 900mhz g3 isn't out of the question. :)

    Pics as requested (excuse the poor quality, these were with the MBP iSight...better ones later :)
     

    Attached Files:

  10. deadpixels macrumors 6502a

    deadpixels

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2006
    #10
    i had a pismo 500mhz, you can put 1gb ram in it, it worked fine in mine, and hdd is right under the keyboard! i wish the mbpro were that easy to upgrade!! :D
     

Share This Page