Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

jelloshotsrule

macrumors G3
Original poster
Feb 7, 2002
serendipity
as many of you know, i'm a recent film school graduate (well, not THAT recent... '03). i studied animation and while i mainly do 3D stuff, i do some title animation stuff as well.

a couple years ago, one of my former professors hired me to do some animation scene scanning and timing, as well as some title animation for a project he was working on.

a few months later it was completed, and i went to new york for a private screening. the film was to be broadcast on bravo or cinemax or hbo, at some point in 2006.

last night i was watching the oscars with my girlfriend. they started announcing the best animated short nominees. i nearly fainted when i saw the film i worked on was nominated. i nearly crapped myself when i saw that it won. my girlfriend and i were shocked and just didn't know what the heck happened. it was surreal. still is. on the one hand, i played a relatively small part in a film that required many many talented people to get it done. on the other hand, i actually have a credit on an oscar winning film!

needless to say, my former professor is john canemaker, creator, director and producer of "the moon and the son: an imagined conversation"

i'm still a little in shock.

anyways, time to update the resume... hah

~Shard~

macrumors P6
Jun 4, 2003
Congrats, that's awesome! Not many people can say they've had something to do with a film, let alone one that was nominated for an Oscar, let alone one that won an Oscar!

Congrats! That must make you feel on top of the world! :cool:

Kernow

macrumors 65816
Sep 30, 2005
Kingston-Upon-Thames
Congratulations - I'm dead impressed. Will you be able to give your former professor a ring and actually go and see the statue you helped win?

BoyBach

macrumors 68040
Feb 24, 2006
jelloshotsrule said: