So I've got the Leopard Beta... but can't install to external hard drive? Help?

Discussion in 'macOS' started by BurtonCCC, Jan 24, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. BurtonCCC macrumors 65816

    BurtonCCC

    Joined:
    May 2, 2005
    Location:
    Wheaton/Normal, IL
    #1
    My colleague installed it onto his machine and apparently something's making it run slow, so I figured I'd just install it to my external hard drive, but when I do the installer, I can't select the external. Whyyyyy?!

    Daniel.
     
  2. psychofreak Retired

    psychofreak

    Joined:
    May 16, 2006
    Location:
    London
    #2
    Why don't you want it on your main drive? Just curious...
     
  3. BurtonCCC thread starter macrumors 65816

    BurtonCCC

    Joined:
    May 2, 2005
    Location:
    Wheaton/Normal, IL
    #3
    So far the beta has only slowed down his computer. And his is a new computer, whereas I'm using a G4 PB, so I can only imagine what would happen if I installed it directly onto mine.

    Daniel.
     
  4. monke macrumors 65816

    monke

    Joined:
    May 30, 2005
    #4
    . beaten :(
     
  5. Nermal Moderator

    Nermal

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Location:
    New Zealand
    #5
    Are you running on PowerPC or Intel? Chances are that your external drive is using APM, whereas Intels require GPT to boot. You can change the mapping in Disk Utility, but I believe that this requires a full erase of all volumes on the drive.
     
  6. BurtonCCC thread starter macrumors 65816

    BurtonCCC

    Joined:
    May 2, 2005
    Location:
    Wheaton/Normal, IL
    #6
    I'm not going to pretend like I know what you just said. Can you explain it in dumb-people language?

    My PB's drive and my external drive are both formatted to Mac OS Extended (Journaled). Does that help you figure anything out?

    Also, the external is brand new, so I don't have to much on it. A full erase is a possibility if it'll help something. Just let me know what to change.

    Daniel.
     
  7. Nermal Moderator

    Nermal

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Location:
    New Zealand
    #7
    You're on a PowerBook (therefore PowerPC)? The partition mapping therefore isn't the issue, and I can't offer any more advice.
     
  8. Peace macrumors P6

    Peace

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2005
    Location:
    Space--The ONLY Frontier
    #8
    I'm wondering if you have a full ADC Select or Premier membership or just decided to install a developer friends software.

    Read the seed note.
     
  9. BurtonCCC thread starter macrumors 65816

    BurtonCCC

    Joined:
    May 2, 2005
    Location:
    Wheaton/Normal, IL
    #9
    It is just a friend's, so I'll go ahead and read the note.

    Daniel.
     
  10. Doctor Q Administrator

    Doctor Q

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2002
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    #10
    Since it's a friend's copy, we can't offer you any installation help with it.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page