So many Open (windows) hard to navigate between them

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by rdubmu, Apr 24, 2012.

1. rdubmu, Apr 24, 2012
    Last edited: Apr 27, 2012

macrumors newbie

Hello everyone,

I am new to the mac, I am having trouble with trying to be productive. I have a lot of different windows open while I am doing work/school. I am used to the windows enviroment where I can just go to the taskbar and run my mouse over the app that is open and it shows all the windows open for that app.

What is the easiest way to beable to switch apps. I am having a hard time trying to find open apps (windows) that are behind each other.

I have a iMac with both a magic mouse and trackpad.

2. macrumors 65816

Try mission control under f3 or bij double tapping your magic mouse with two fingers. This will give you an overview of everything running on your Mac. By pressing ctrl+f3 you see only the windows of the foreground app. I'm not sure how to see that with the magic mouse though.

You can also see all the windows of a current app by clicking and holding on that app in the dock I believe

3. macrumors 68000

rocknblogger

I use http://hyperdock.bahoom.com/Hyperdock which gives you the same type of thumbnails like Windows.

You can also try Dockview. I haven't tried it yet so can't tell you anything about it. http://kapeli.com/dockview/

4. macrumors 6502

I'm not sure if these are default settings, but on my MacBook Pro running Lion, I can swipe up with 3 fingers to get a Mission Control overview of all open Apps and if I swipe down with 3 fingers I get an overview of all windows for the current App.

You may also want to try using different "spaces" -- there are lots of demos around including on Apple's website. I find that having a few related apps in their own space sometimes helps me avoid distraction.

5. macrumors 68020

BrianBaughn

I've been using command-tab.

6. macrumors 68030

tkermit