So why don't I get the ripple effect thingy when I add a new widget??

Discussion in 'macOS' started by dmbfloydian, Dec 5, 2005.

  1. dmbfloydian macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2004
    Location:
    Syracuse, NY
    #1
    I just was helping my neighbor set up his new 15" Powerbook, and I was showing him widgets, and when I added a new one to the desktop it made this cool splash/ripple effect on the desktop.

    why the mother don't I get that on my powerbook?
    I have one of the older ones...but should that matter? isn't just a feature of dashboard? or do i like not have a good enough video card or something?
    I have a 1.ghz g4, with 768 pc133 ram. (the older 15" with the black keyboard)

    on my Dashboard, the widget just shows up. no splash/ripple thingy.

    what gives? I WANT IT.
    ( i installed tiger fresh too)
     
  2. sethypoo macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2003
    Location:
    Sacramento, CA, USA
    #2
    You don't have CoreImage, which is a requirement for the ripple effect. You'll have to get a new PowerBook! Sorry.:eek: Also, it's due to your video card. I have a rev. A 12" PowerBook G4, and I don't have the ripple effect. I think your video card has to have at least 64MB's of VRAM.
     
  3. iGary Guest

    iGary

    Joined:
    May 26, 2004
    Location:
    Randy's House
    #3
    I have a 1.ghz g4, with 768 pc133 ram. (the older 15" with the black keyboard).

    That's why. The ripple is a Core Image function. Your video carddoesn't support it.

    Sorry. :eek:
     
  4. dmbfloydian thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2004
    Location:
    Syracuse, NY
    #4
    what.

    i call shenanigans.

    shenanigans on apple.

    SHENANIGANS I SAY!

    (oh well, thanks guys for the help, appreciate it :) )
     
  5. rdowns Suspended

    rdowns

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2003
    #5
    You're not missing anything. Most annoying feature IMO.
     
  6. Soulstorm macrumors 68000

    Soulstorm

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2005
    #6
    Actually, he has coreimage in general, he just doesn't have that particular extension that controls the ripple effect.
     
  7. sethypoo macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2003
    Location:
    Sacramento, CA, USA
    #7
    I'm sorry, what in the world was I thinking? :p Yeah, he has CoreImage. You'd think Apple would have had a paired down version of the ripple effect for older Mac's.
     
  8. robbieduncan Moderator emeritus

    robbieduncan

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2002
    Location:
    London
    #8
    Actually yes he does. CoreImage does not work like this. ALL CoreImage effects can be run on the CPU or on a supported GPU. It is possible for developers to discover if a given CoreImage effect will be run on the GPU or not.

    Apple have decided to not enable this effect in this Application (Dashboard) if it will use the CPU as it essentially eye candy.
     
  9. ITASOR macrumors 601

    ITASOR

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2005
    Location:
    Oneida, NY
    #9
    Uhoh, your widgets don't ripple when you add one!!!! YIKES!!!

    Better get a new PB now! :p :p

    I'm not a fan of the ripple. Maybe if it was used more, but I install a widget like what? 2 times a month MAX?
     
  10. Danksi macrumors 68000

    Danksi

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2005
    Location:
    Nelson, BC. Canada
    #10
    My iBook does the ripple, for what it's worth.
     
  11. arcobb macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2005
    Location:
    Colorado
    #11
    WhoHoo The big rippal effect

    I only use my dashboard 2 times a month... usually to check the weather. The Unit conversion thing is cool. But I have yet to find a widget that is going to change my life... Suggestions?
     
  12. bousozoku Moderator emeritus

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2002
    Location:
    Gone but not forgotten.
    #12
    Since we're already off-topic here, I'd suggest learning to make your own. That in itself would change your life. ;)
     
  13. DXoverDY macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2005
    #13
    for more information on the "ripple effect" and CoreImage, visit my CoreImage Guide.
     

Share This Page