SocialPushAgent: What is this?

Discussion in 'OS X Mountain Lion (10.8)' started by adam044, Jan 7, 2013.

  1. macrumors 65816

    adam044

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2012
    Location:
    Boston
    #1
    What is SocialPushAgent? Is it suppose to be there and does anyone else have it?
     
  2. Moderator

    SandboxGeneral

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2010
    Location:
    Detroit, Michigan
    #2
    I found this here:

     
  3. thread starter macrumors 65816

    adam044

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2012
    Location:
    Boston
    #3
    So is it something that didnt get removed when I update to the final release?
     
  4. Moderator

    SandboxGeneral

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2010
    Location:
    Detroit, Michigan
    #4
    It's not running on mine. Are you or have you been a developer before?

    It may also be related to Facebook Notification Center integration according to this thread on MacRumors:

    Notification Center ... Launch Facebook?
     
  5. thread starter macrumors 65816

    adam044

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2012
    Location:
    Boston
    #5
    I had a developer version of Mtn Lion yes

    ----------

    can I remore the social push agent?
     
  6. Moderator

    SandboxGeneral

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2010
    Location:
    Detroit, Michigan
    #6
    That I am not sure of. Is it causing problems with your OS or other apps? If not, it appears to be a harmless process from Apple.
     
  7. thread starter macrumors 65816

    adam044

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2012
    Location:
    Boston
    #7
    For anyone wondering where this is go to settings, notifications, and you would see SocialPushAgent in the left hand column

    ----------

    No not causing any problems I just got concerned because it doesn't have an image of anything so I wasn't sure of what it was.

    ----------

    No not causing any problems I just got concerned because it doesn't have an image of anything so I wasn't sure of what it was.
     
  8. Moderator

    SandboxGeneral

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2010
    Location:
    Detroit, Michigan
    #8
    Do you have Facebook integration setup? I do not because I do not have a Facebook. With that said, I do not have the SocialPushAgent in my Settings --> Notifications area.
     
  9. thread starter macrumors 65816

    adam044

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2012
    Location:
    Boston
    #9
    Yes I have both twitter and facebook setup. Interesting thing now though, I turned off the SocialPushAgent and now I can click to send tweet or click to post to facebook from the notification center
     
  10. Moderator

    SandboxGeneral

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2010
    Location:
    Detroit, Michigan
    #10
    That's odd. I only have Twitter integrated and don't have that process.
     
  11. thread starter macrumors 65816

    adam044

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2012
    Location:
    Boston
    #11
    Turned it back on and restarted the computer and the 2 boxes are still there but when I click them nothing happens.
     

Share This Page