Software access point for Mac OS X

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by Lollypop, Aug 3, 2006.

  1. Lollypop macrumors 6502a

    Lollypop

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2004
    Location:
    Johannesburg, South Africa
    #1
    I have build a very efficient home server out of a old B&W G3, NAT, firewall, squid proxy and squidguard url filter, but now I want to expand it a bit more. I used my old PC with a software access point wireless to share our internet connection cheaply, but now I want to do the same with my new home server, are there any software access points available for the mac os?
     
  2. GimmeSlack12 macrumors 603

    GimmeSlack12

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2005
    Location:
    San Francisco
    #2
    I am not sure I understand what a software access point is. Are you talking about connectingly wirelessly to the internet?

    Just buy a PCI wireless card for the G3, and that should work fine with the Airport software on the Mac. If that is not what you are looking for then explain what a software acces point is please.
     
  3. generik macrumors 601

    generik

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2005
    Location:
    Minitrue
  4. Lollypop thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Lollypop

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2004
    Location:
    Johannesburg, South Africa
    #4

    she:eek: :eek:

    If I were to put a wireless card in the G3 I would be able to access it from another PC (thats wireless enabled) in ad-hoc mode, as far as I know thats strictly a 1-1 thing, meaning no other wireless enabled card can access the G3.

    I need to have a central point that can accept multiple connections like a access point. Before I had a real hardware access point I used a piece of software from MSI that simulated a full access point and allowed multiple connections to a simple PCI 802.11b card. I want to know if there is something like that for the mac os, something that add the required software logic that will allow a pci card in a mac to operate in infrastructure mode.
     
  5. generik macrumors 601

    generik

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2005
    Location:
    Minitrue
    #5
    What you want to do is to get a wireless AP, and plug it into your Mac's ethernet port :rolleyes:
     
  6. Lollypop thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Lollypop

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2004
    Location:
    Johannesburg, South Africa
    #6
    I know I can do that, but 1, thats going to cost money, there are linux alternatives that are free, and 2, I want to have the G3 be as usefull as possible. Im looking for a software sollution for what is usually done in hardware.

    Check this out Linux based AP
     
  7. generik macrumors 601

    generik

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2005
    Location:
    Minitrue
    #7
    Does the Airport uses the Prism chipset?
     
  8. whooleytoo macrumors 603

    whooleytoo

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2002
    Location:
    Cork, Ireland.
    #8
    Just turn on Internet Sharing (in the Sharing control panel, under the Internet tab), and ensure Airport is checked in the "To computers using:" list.

    Edit: Ah, sorry, I hadn't realised you weren't using a standard Airport card, so I don't know if the built-in software access point above will work.
     
  9. Lollypop thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Lollypop

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2004
    Location:
    Johannesburg, South Africa
    #9
    I dont think so no, but i was simply listing it as a example, most links ive found also talk about the prism based cards. Was hoping there was something that could use any supported mac os wireless card... still looking though:(
     
  10. gekko513 macrumors 603

    gekko513

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2003
    #10
    I don't see why OS X shouldn't be able to do its built in sharing of Internet access trick (act like a software base station) with any supported mac os wireless card. I can't guarantee anything of course.
     
  11. Lollypop thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Lollypop

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2004
    Location:
    Johannesburg, South Africa
    #11

    mmm... havnt though about that, plain simple and elligant, very apple! :p

    From what ive been reading the wireless support in the mac os is a bit limited n terms of configuration when compared to linux. Lets hope your suggestion works. Thanks gekko
     
  12. Nutter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2005
    Location:
    London, England
    #12
    The internet sharing trick only works when you actually have a network to share it on. You don't have a network yet, and I don't think there's any way to create one in software using your AirPort card and Mac OS X.

    Get a hardware AP, they're cheap.
     
  13. whooleytoo macrumors 603

    whooleytoo

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2002
    Location:
    Cork, Ireland.
    #13
    I don't follow, if the OP has an incoming internet connection (presumably via Ethernet), they should be able to share that out via Wifi, although it's not certain it'll work with 3rd party cards. That's how I have my iMac setup at home. I don't see why that presents a problem?
     
  14. gekko513 macrumors 603

    gekko513

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2003
    #14
    I also share my internet connection like whooleytoo describes, so I know it works with Apple's own Airport cards, but you're right. The configuration options are definitely limited. I don't see any way to filter MAC addresses, for instance. I should probably also mention that I've had problems connecting Windows computers to it with encryption turned on.

    Nutter: Creating a network that others can connect to is really easy with Airport, it's like three clicks with the mouse. Sharing the Internet connection requires a few more clicks.
     
  15. Lollypop thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Lollypop

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2004
    Location:
    Johannesburg, South Africa
    #15

    I have a incomming internet connection through PPPoE, I have shared it before via built in Airport, but never connected more than one machine, did a fair amount fo research for my masters about wireless networking and from what I could gather doing it that way would imply a 1-1 connection (ah-hoc), it wasnt a 1-M connection like with a more traditional hardware access point (infrastructure), thats why I orginally asked for a software sollution so simulate the 1-M type of architecture.

    Do you connect more than 1 other PC via your shared airport connection ghekko?
     
  16. Lollypop thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Lollypop

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2004
    Location:
    Johannesburg, South Africa
    #17
    Wow, thanks!!!
     

Share This Page