software overclocking ibook

Discussion in 'Macintosh Computers' started by Huked on Fonick, Jun 5, 2003.

  1. Huked on Fonick macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2002
    Location:
    1 Loop
    #1
    I read a while back that it was possible to software over clock the sarha series G3s at least the one in the 700mhz ibook. does anyone know how you would go about this, and if you can do it on a 800mhz ibook?
     
  2. mrjamin macrumors 65816

    mrjamin

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2003
    Location:
    Strongbadia
    #2
    Re: software overclocking ibook

    i personally would say its not worth trying. if you screw it up (yes, you can screw it up by software overclocking) then you're shafted. Applecare ain't gonna cover that one!

    The best thing you can do to speed up your iBook is stick more ram in it.
     
  3. Huked on Fonick thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2002
    Location:
    1 Loop
    #3
    Humm

    I am pretty sure the program to software over clock it is an apple program and i think it onyl does it by till the next reboot and by some small number thats safe....not certain but pretty sure

    .i have 640 megs of ram so i can add more to it.....:(
     
  4. MrMacMan macrumors 604

    MrMacMan

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2001
    Location:
    1 Block away from NYC.
    #4
    And I'm quite sure that you have to do some firmware editing...

    info here

    do it/don't do it?

    I don't care.
     
  5. cb911 macrumors 601

    cb911

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2002
    Location:
    BrisVegas, Australia
    #5
    dude, do it if you're game and have the cash or a backup if the worst happens... i'm sure you know all the risks.

    if you do try it, post us some details. :)
     
  6. hvfsl macrumors 68000

    hvfsl

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2001
    Location:
    London, UK
    #6
    I flashed my PB G4 DVDrom drive so it can read DVDs from any region, the only thing you have to be carefull of is deleting any sign of the overclocking if you need to send it back to Apple. I had to reflash my DVD drive with the original settings before I sent it back.
     
  7. papolo macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2003
    Location:
    Pacific Ocean
    #7
    help

    hoe did u flash ur G4??
    what falshing consist on??
    is the Albook17 DVD reader possible to flash???

    thank you
     

Share This Page