software overcloking a g5?

Discussion in 'Macintosh Computers' started by Mord, Jul 14, 2004.

  1. macrumors G4

    Mord

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2003
    Messages:
    10,067
    Location:
    Old York
    #1
    i use a little kernal patch called icook and I know that the g5's have the same technology thats in the 750fx that my ibook has (i think it's called speedstep or somthing like that) and i'm wandering if anyone has tryed to use it on there g5?
    for a dual 1.8 the smallest step would be 450MHz up (changeing the multiplyer from 2 to 2.5) that would push it to 2.25 which is probably too much.

    and for the 1.6 you could pust it to 2.0 (still a bit to high)

    is anyone willing to try?

    http://www.swieskowski.net/icook/
     
  2. macrumors 68030

    jared_kipe

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2003
    Messages:
    2,963
    Location:
    Seattle
    #2
    Yeah, we were talking about this, I do wonder who will try...
     
  3. macrumors G5

    Sun Baked

    Joined:
    May 19, 2002
    Messages:
    14,782
    #3
    The multiplier is 1x, 2x, 3x, etc. -- whole numbers only.
     
  4. macrumors G4

    Mord

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2003
    Messages:
    10,067
    Location:
    Old York
    #4
    where did you get the info from?

    hmm mabey with a good watercooling set voltage tweaks and a peltier we could get to 3GHz with a dual 2GHz g5?
     
  5. macrumors 68010

    Dreadnought

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2002
    Messages:
    2,003
    Location:
    Almere, The Netherlands
    #5
    hmmm, interesting.... well, my dual 1.8 is ready for the task, thank god I still have my B&W as a backup... (hope I don't need it)
     
  6. macrumors 68010

    Dreadnought

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2002
    Messages:
    2,003
    Location:
    Almere, The Netherlands
    #6
    hmmm, iCook can only go till 1200 mhz... to bad.
     
  7. macrumors 604

    MacsRgr8

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2002
    Messages:
    7,046
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    #7
    You're a bold man.... :)
     
  8. macrumors 6502a

    Fender2112

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2002
    Messages:
    944
    Location:
    Charlotte, NC
    #8
    I'm at 35. Catch me if you can. ;)
     
  9. macrumors G5

    Sun Baked

    Joined:
    May 19, 2002
    Messages:
    14,782
    #9
    Was in one on the PPC970 brochures from IBM concerning the FSB multiplier, of course IBM has done some housecleaning since then.
     
  10. macrumors G4

    Mord

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2003
    Messages:
    10,067
    Location:
    Old York
    #10
    have you actually tryed it because i suspect that the 1200MHz limit is a limit of the chip muliplyer not the software
     
  11. macrumors 68030

    jared_kipe

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2003
    Messages:
    2,963
    Location:
    Seattle
    #11
    well I tried it and it wouldn't run, the website says, "If this fails you probably do not have a 750FX CPU." Guess I don't have a 750FX
     
  12. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2004
    Messages:
    356
    Location:
    Spencer's Butte, Oregon
    #12
    Wow! That's nuts. If I owned a G5, I wouldn't risk it on an overclocking experiment. I think a dual G5 would be "fast enough" for my uses.

    Thanks for telling us about the results of the experiment, though!


    Crikey
     
  13. macrumors G4

    Mord

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2003
    Messages:
    10,067
    Location:
    Old York
    #13
    well the developer is on my ichat list now, so i'll have a word with him.

    it might be because when the g5 lows down or speeds up it changes the pci multiplyer instead of the system bus multiplyer because makeing a 1GHz jump on the dual 2GHZ g5 wou;d be silly.

    i'll see what the guy thinks
     
  14. Moderator

    Nermal

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Messages:
    17,179
    Location:
    Whakatane, New Zealand
    #14
    I'm at 532 :eek: :p
     
  15. macrumors G5

    Sun Baked

    Joined:
    May 19, 2002
    Messages:
    14,782
    #15
    It would be nice to see the technical reference on the PPC970, but I haven't seen any of that info surface yet.
     

Share This Page