Software Raid 0 vs Hardware Raid 0

Discussion in 'Mac Peripherals' started by sfwalter, Jan 23, 2013.

  1. macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2004
    #1
    Does anyone have an opinion of setting up raid 0 in software vs getting something like a g-tech raid? Is there better performance or better reliability with getting a g-tech like system with hardware raid 0 vs software raid 0?

    Thanks, Scott.
     
  2. macrumors 603

    blueroom

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2009
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada
    #2
    RAID 0 is the least reliable, good only for size.
     
  3. macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2009
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #3
    RAID 0 is primarily used for performance. Yes... you get the full capacity as well... but the motivation for RAID 0 is typically performance.

    /Jim
     
  4. macrumors 65816

    drsox

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2011
    Location:
    Xhystos
    #4
    My limited experience of Software RAID vs Hardware RAID showed me to avoid the Software version. It was forever finding excuses for resynching the RAID, so would be out of action for an hour at a time on boot-up.

    Since moving to Hardware RAID 6+ years ago, I have never had to resynch except for a known reason (drive change, volume expansion etc)
     
  5. macrumors 603

    blueroom

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2009
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada
    #5
    But any drive fails and so much for the array. RAID is not a backup.
     
  6. macrumors G5

    jav6454

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2007
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #6
    RAID 1 would like to have a word with you.
     
  7. macrumors 603

    blueroom

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2009
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada
    #7
    RAID isn't a backup, it's supposed to stay running with minimum downtime.

    Lots of folks on these forums assume RAID is a backup and use it for primary storage. If you delete something on the RAID it's gone so that's not a backup.

    Oh yea, software RAID is useless.
     
  8. macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2009
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #8
    Of course it is not backup... No RAID is "backup". And... of course, is subject to full data loss upon the failure of any drive.

    My comment was in response to the mis-statement that RAID-0 was only good for size. I was correcting that to state that RAID 0 is primarily used for performance.

    /Jim
     

Share This Page