Software Update from Airport?

Discussion in 'General Mac Discussion' started by Boobs, Mar 2, 2005.

  1. Boobs macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2004
    Location:
    Worldwide
    #1
    Just curious, does updating wirelessly from Airport cause any problems as opposed to a cable or dsl connection? I guess I'm mainly worried about rebooting from Software Update after updating my OS version. Stupid question I know, but any help would be much appreciated. :)
     
  2. bostonwhaler1 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2004
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada
    #2
    I can't see there being any issues with it. I've been updating via Airport for a few years now, and haven't had a problem yet.

    That's about all I can tell ya!
     
  3. Boobs thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2004
    Location:
    Worldwide
  4. Mechcozmo macrumors 603

    Mechcozmo

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2004
    #4
    If there is a transmission error, the packet is resent. I've used 802.11b for a loooonnngggg time to do my updates, no issues.
     
  5. varmit macrumors 68000

    varmit

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2003
    #5
    The airport base stations don't actually start flashing and updating their firmware till it gets all the information, so a lost connection usually don't cause problems.
     

Share This Page