Software Update... Grey

Discussion in 'General Mac Discussion' started by jackl79, Mar 8, 2005.

  1. jackl79 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2005
    #1
    As the image shows in about this mac my software update is grey and you cant click it any ideas?? (also software update from apple menu doesnt work)

    However if i go to system preferences then software update it works fine!

    NOTE: More Info... is grey at http://forums.macrumors.com/archive/index.php/t-87497.html
     

    Attached Files:

  2. Hemingray macrumors 68030

    Hemingray

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2002
    Location:
    Ha ha haaa!
    #2
    Hm, that's strange... is the System Preferences in the Applications folder and not in a subfolder?
     
  3. jackl79 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2005
    #3
    Thanks for your reply yea its in the applications folder, the system preferences all work fine its just the apple menu.
     
  4. PlaceofDis macrumors Core

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2004
  5. jackl79 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2005
  6. Abstract macrumors Penryn

    Abstract

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2002
    Location:
    Location Location Location
    #6
    I have no clue.

    Sorry, I just wanted to bump your thread to the top because I want to know the answer to this one. :confused:
     
  7. jackl79 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2005
  8. Mitthrawnuruodo Moderator emeritus

    Mitthrawnuruodo

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2004
    Location:
    Bergen, Norway
    #8
    Edit: Gotta start reading ALL the post before replying... :eek:

    Edit2: New thought: Can you try loggin in as another user (make one if necessary), and see if the problem stays the same...? Helps narrow down where to look... if it works for another user chances are very good that it's a preference problem... then, of course, it's tho issue of finding the right one...

    And, related question... Anywhere know the location of the "About This Mac..." window...? Cannot find it among the .nib's (and the window is slightly different than standard about windows, so I suspect it is a bit different)... nor inside the Finder package... it should be possible to open it by running a command named "abtm" but as I don't have path for that command I'm stuck... :confused:
     
  9. mad jew Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #9
    Are you running antivirus on it? I read something ages ago about some antivirus software doing something like this to a much earlier OSX but it was well before Panther. I'll try finding it for you but it wasn't on the net so I might take a while. I haven't actually ever run into a similar problem myself, but it might be worthwhile getting rid of the AV momentarily... Assuming you have it of course...
     
  10. jackl79 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2005
    #10
    its the same on all users (even root)
     
  11. jackl79 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2005
    #11
    yea i have norton installed

    I have turned off norton auto protect is there anu other way to turn norton off? as this has made no differnrce

    thanks every1 though for your ideas :)
     
  12. Mitthrawnuruodo Moderator emeritus

    Mitthrawnuruodo

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2004
    Location:
    Bergen, Norway
    #12
    Long shot: Try deleting (or maybe better move and rename) /Library/Caches/com.apple.LaunchServices.6B.csstore then reboot...
     
  13. jackl79 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2005
    #13
    sadly not :( ...... any other ideas? :rolleyes:
     
  14. Mitthrawnuruodo Moderator emeritus

    Mitthrawnuruodo

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2004
    Location:
    Bergen, Norway
    #14
    I actually have found the "About This Mac" box. It's located inside the package "loginwindow" in CoreServices, full path: /System/Library/CoreServices/loginwindow.app/Contents/Resources/English.lproj/AboutThisMac.nib

    If you hold the cursor over the greyed box, do you get a tooltip message saying "This button launches Software Update to check for updated software." or "This button is disabled because there is no Software Update application."?

    And you haven't, by accident or on purpose, moved either of the apps "loginwindow" or "Software Update" out of the /System/Library/CoreServices/ folder...?

    And have you installed any skins, enhancers or other system changing 3rd party software...?
     
  15. jackl79 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2005
    #15
    doesnt show any tooltip on either button

    both files are in the folder as shown in attachment

    dont think i have any system changing software as such.... can you give me a few examples if possible?
     

    Attached Files:

  16. Mitthrawnuruodo Moderator emeritus

    Mitthrawnuruodo

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2004
    Location:
    Bergen, Norway
    #16
    If you have to ask chances are good you don't have any... ;) ShapeShifter is one example, there are others, e.g. most things on www.resexcellence.com

    As the about box is located inside "loginwindow" there is a chance that deleting (or the usual move and rename) the systemwide pref file (you did say the problem occured for all users, right?): /Library/Preferences/com.apple.loginwindow.plist

    Note that there is no ~ in front this time, i.e. it is not in your home folder (where there actually is another com.apple.loginwindow.plist file), this is the Library folder directly in the root directory (your HD).
     
  17. mad jew Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #17
    Nah, sorry, it wasn't Norton. It was some brand that I'd recognize if I saw it but I can't think of it off the top of my head. No luck in finding the old journal either, but it sounds like the antivirus isn't your problem anyway.

    Good luck with it though. :confused:
     
  18. jackl79 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2005
    #18
    sadly removing that file (and restarting) has made no difference :(
     
  19. jackl79 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2005
    #19
    thanks for looking mad jew
     
  20. Mitthrawnuruodo Moderator emeritus

    Mitthrawnuruodo

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2004
    Location:
    Bergen, Norway
    #20
    Then we are getting closer to a reinstall, I'm afraid... Apart from replacing the loginwindow.app (can be extracted from the OS X installer using Pacifist)...

    Sorry I couldn't help you... :eek:
     
  21. jackl79 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2005
    #21
    ummm think i will wait till 10.4 is out
     
  22. jackl79 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2005
    #22
    ITS WORKING!

    How odd this function has started working again since i installed the newest security update (Security Update 2005-003) !!!

    Thanks again to all that helped
     

Share This Page