software update locked up

Discussion in 'Mac Help/Tips' started by vniow, Feb 13, 2003.

  1. macrumors G4

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2002
    Location:
    I accidentally my whole location.
    #1
    Just ran SU for 10.2.4, and my dial-up connecton dropped right at 39MB. Luckily it didn't delete it so I ran it again and it resumed from where it left off.
    I'm pretty sure it's done downloading, but it's been stuck at about two pixels from the end for about 20 minutes.
    Is there anything I can do to reset it or something without having to download the whole update again?

    -V
     
  2. thread starter macrumors G4

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2002
    Location:
    I accidentally my whole location.
    #2
    I just deleted the prefs for it to see it that did anything, not it won't even start!

    Anybody?

    Or else I'm going to have to download another 40.9MB again.........
     
  3. thread starter macrumors G4

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2002
    Location:
    I accidentally my whole location.
    #3
    Never mind, I restarted and magically it was installed.

    Faster too.[​IMG]
     
  4. Moderator emeritus

    Rower_CPU

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2001
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    #4
    Glad you got it fixed...

    Restarting/logging out tends to "fix" some things...sometimes. ;)
     
  5. macrumors 68030

    mnkeybsness

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2001
    Location:
    Moneyapolis, Minnesota
    #5
    the update took for ever for me too...i believe that that was after it installed it had to optimize and whatnot...

    so basically by restarting you didn't let it finish "optimizing"...it should cause no real damage
     
  6. thread starter macrumors G4

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2002
    Location:
    I accidentally my whole location.
    #6
    Is there anything I can do to optimize it since I interrupted it?
     
  7. macrumors 68040

    mac15

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2001
    Location:
    Sydney
    #7
    Just repair your user permissions, thats all optmising is anyways
     
  8. macrumors G3

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2002
    Location:
    Sol III - Terra
    #8
    Acgtually optimising is not repairing permissions. There's a good description of it elsewhere on this message board.
     
  9. macrumors 68000

    GeeYouEye

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2001
    Location:
    State of Denial
    #9
    look on versiontracker for an optimizer. There's at least two that I know of.
     
  10. macrumors 68040

    mac15

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2001
    Location:
    Sydney
    #10
    What else does it do? Prebind and repair permissions is the only 2 I can think of
     
  11. macrumors 603

    shadowfax

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2002
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    #11
    vniow, if you want to have some more fun kicks on the download hold, you might try downloading the apple 10.2.4 package manually and reinstalling it. that way, it will optimize it. if you have friends with broadband (mac or PC of course) you can cajole them into burning it onto a CDR for you and just do that if you are too impatient to wait (i would be!).
     
  12. thread starter macrumors G4

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2002
    Location:
    I accidentally my whole location.
    #12
    Yeah, I'll probably end up downloading the package again, don't live anywhere near broadband and I could do it in one night so it's no big deal, just weird that it locked up like that.[​IMG]
     
  13. macrumors 603

    shadowfax

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2002
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    #13
    It is. lotta weird things seem to have happened with this update. i'm sorry you had to go through it, but hopefully the manual package will work for you :).
     
  14. thread starter macrumors G4

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2002
    Location:
    I accidentally my whole location.
    #14
    Downloaded and installed the manual update last night, don't see any real changes than before, hope any improvements are under the surface.[​IMG]
     
  15. macrumors 6502

    zac4mac

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2002
    Location:
    near Boulder, CO. USA
    #15
    Acted weird for me too. I ran Updater on both my duallie and iBook together. Duallie is hard-line, iBook is on AirPort. The iBook was finished and the duallie was stuck at about 2/3. I quit SETI and the duallie's d/l resumed. All is good now.

    Z
     

Share This Page