Software Update Port

Discussion in 'macOS' started by sowlerrmgh, Oct 1, 2005.

  1. sowlerrmgh macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2004
    #1
    Hello,

    Does anyone know what port number Software Update connects to the internet from?

    Thank You

    Kind Regards

    Richard
     
  2. HexMonkey Administrator

    HexMonkey

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2004
    Location:
    New Zealand
  3. Flying Llama macrumors 6502a

    Flying Llama

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2004
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    #3
    Isn't that just the defualt internet port? (I'm a total noob when it comes to ports, firewalls, routers and the such)...

    Also, why do you need to know what port it uses?

    llama :)
     
  4. jim. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2004
    Location:
    C-ville, VA
    #4
    Port 80 is the default tcp port for access to httpd. Maybe he wants to run a software update server?? It shouldn't matter for the client, since SU isn't a P2P system, and doesn't need a server instance (though it would be cool...).

    Jim
     
  5. grapes911 Moderator emeritus

    grapes911

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2003
    Location:
    Citizens Bank Park
    #5
    Are you thinking you have to open a port on you firewall to run software update? You don't have too. Ports are only for incoming connections. Out going connections use the first available port and don't need a hole in the firewall to connect. Same is true for any outgoing connection.

    Now if you are going to run a software update server, then you need to open up port 80.
     

Share This Page