Soho Loft Studio

Discussion in 'Community' started by asif786, Sep 10, 2004.

1. asif786 macrumors 65816

asif786

Hi Guys,

I am currently a freelance designer, and I'm planning to move to NYC next year to start up my design company. I have been saving up for the past year or so [not spending any money that i get from designing] and I have managed to raise around £20,000 [$35,000] and I hope to have around $40,000 when it comes to moving there.

Now, Ideally I would like to get a place in soho to work from. I want a nice, bright, trendy loft. I would spend around $1,000/mo for around a year or two doing it up - and furnishing it. So, while I'll still be decorating it in a classy way ($24,000!) it will be done in stages so I wont run out of cash. I suppose I'm gonna have to live in the studio for a couple of years cos there's no way I can pay for the loft and an apartment.. :-/

Anyway, if there are any real estate agents or anything on MR, please can you let me know what sort of rent I'll be looking at? Some pointers:

* It'll need to be around 2000sq.ft Or maybe 1500sq.ft
    *It MUST have one bedroom and two bathrooms (one bathroom for my personal use - ensuite, and one for other people that will eventually work in the studio)
    *I like Prince St / Mercer St. They seem cool. Not sure of the rent prices around there.

I think that's about it. It must NOT be furnished, I want to pick it myself.

Also, what are landlords like about decorating? I want to put up halogen spotlights and things like that - will it be a problem?

I know it's a big request, but if you guys could just spare some time to give me some rough figures that would be great - so I can half plan my finances and see how much I need to raise..

Thanks in advance for your help,

Asif

2. Abstract macrumors Penryn

Abstract

1500 to 2000 sq ft in a good area sounds like it'll be heaps expensive.

3. Hoef macrumors 6502a

Hoef