[SOLVED] Adobe Products with Java 7 and no Java 6

Discussion in 'OS X Mountain Lion (10.8)' started by anonnymouz, Mar 5, 2013.

  1. anonnymouz, Mar 5, 2013
    Last edited: Mar 9, 2013

    macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2012
    Location:
    Gamboa, Cairu, Bahia, Brasil
    #1
    Hi, I hope someone may help!

    I've made a clean intallation of Mountain Lion and installed only the Oracle-provided Java 7, when I try to run some Adobe Softwares (Illustrator and Dreamweaver) it asks to install Apple-privided Java 6.

    The problem is that my bank's Internet Banking site works only with Java 7, if I install Java 6 it stops working! :confused:

    I've made tests using only Java 6,only Java 7 and both, Java 6 and Java 7 together.

    It really won't work if I install Java 6 ! :(

    The question is: is there a way to force AI and DW to use only Java 7???

    Thanks in advance!!!
     
  2. Moderator

    maflynn

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Location:
    Boston
    #2
    Not to my knowledge as it expects a certain version and there's no way around it.
     
  3. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2008
    #3
    I think this might be what you are looking for.
     
  4. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2012
    Location:
    Gamboa, Cairu, Bahia, Brasil
    #4
    Hey, sorry for taking so long... :eek:

    Thanks for all the replies!!!

    As I said before, if I ever install Apple-provided Java 6 my bank´s website will stop working... :mad:

    Don't know how it can identify Java 6, since it uses Java 7 (and I set Java 7 as the main VM), but it does!

    Too bad, I'll have to choose: or Internet Banking or AI... :(

    Thanks again!!!
     
  5. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2008
    #5
    I see what you are asking now, but I don't know why it's not working.

    When you install Java 7 on top of Java 6, the Java 6 web plugin gets replaced by the Java 7 one. I don't see how Safari would be affected by or even have knowledge of Java 6 existing on your system. I could be wrong about this.

    I would uninstall Java 7, make sure Java 6 is up to date, restart, clean install Java 7, restart, and try your banking website again in Private Browsing mode so you know you're not being affected by something it might have left in a cookie or cache.
     
  6. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2012
    Location:
    Gamboa, Cairu, Bahia, Brasil
    #6
    [solved]

    Phew!!! I worked!!! :D

    It seems it didn't work because of the cache. I've followed your instructions and used CCleaner for cleaning out cache, cookies etc.

    Thank you very much for your help!!!

    Cheerio!!!

     

Share This Page