General SOLVED: Greenpois0n RC5 "Failed" Error

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by sumsh, Feb 4, 2011.

  1. macrumors newbie

    Jul 26, 2010
    Ok, for those of you that are trying to use Greenpois0n to jailbreak 4.2.1 and getting the "Failed" error, here's what I did and it worked. NOTE: The steps below assume that is on your Desktop.

    1. Make sure you're using Greenpois0n RC5_2
    2. Make sure device is connected to your Mac
    3. Open Terminal
    4. Type "cd Desktop" without quotes and hit enter
    5. Type "open" without quotes and hit enter. A second Terminal window will open and Greenpois0n will start
    6. Follow the instructions in Greenpois0n to enter DFU mode and it will jailbreak
    7. Once jailbroken, a green "Loader" will be added to your device. This is supposed to allow you to install Cydia, but mine would not. If yours is the same, go to step 8
    8. Turn off your device
    9. Open Redsn0w 0.9.7b6
    10. Make sure the only option checked is "Install Cydia"
    11. Follow the instructions in Redsnow
    12. Voila! Cydia is installed, and you have an untethered 4.2.1 jailbroken device!
  2. macrumors newbie

    Nov 8, 2005
    Thank you SO MUCH for this post. Was pulling out my hair all day trying to jailbreak my iPad and your instructions worked fist time. Even had to re-install Cydia as suggested.
  3. macrumors newbie

    Feb 4, 2011
    Ohhhhh yeahhh.... this is working!

    Ohhhhh yeahhh.... this is working!

  4. macrumors 68020


    May 13, 2008
    Dallas, TX
    Now that is what this forum is about. Nice job!
  5. macrumors regular


    Aug 4, 2010
    Does this also unlock the phone to use with any carrier or do I have to install redsn0w to do that?
  6. macrumors member

    Jun 22, 2010
    ABSOLUTE LEGEND! Well done that man! First time, no problems at all, spent all day restoring, rebuilding my mac, all sorts! come on this forum, see your post, and all done within 10 mins.

    many thanks!
  7. macrumors regular


    Jul 5, 2010
    Los Angeles, CA
    I am following your instructions and after step 5 am getting a message that says Greenpois0n unexpectedly quit.

    When I click on reports it says:

    Incompatible library version: greenpois0n requires version 6.0.0 or later, but libcurl.4.dylib provides version 5.0.0

    Any ideas? I am running 10.5.8
  8. macrumors 6502

    Dec 4, 2008
    Also, not sure if this will help anybody:

    You have to be connected to the internet to run greenpois0n!

    I had completely disconnected from my network because I wanted to upgrade my iPhone 4 while preserving the 01.59.00 baseband and was paranoid. greenpois0n failed a bunch of times before I realized what was going on.
  9. macrumors newbie

    Sep 10, 2004
  10. macrumors regular

    Oct 11, 2008
    Sydney, Australia
    The normal GP process and then steps 8 onwards worked for my iPad, many thanks.
  11. macrumors 68040


    May 20, 2010
    Boulder, CO
    Whooo! Thanks so much! It works just fine on my 3G S! I am just a little bummed with the modified bootscreen...
  12. macrumors 6502a


    May 13, 2009
    Navigate to /usr/bin/ and delete "animate." The skull will be gone.
  13. macrumors member

    Oct 27, 2008
    Los Angeles, CA
    Delete Loader?


    Once Cydia has been installed, can I manually delete "Loader" app from my phone?
  14. macrumors newbie

    Aug 21, 2009
  15. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Jul 26, 2010
    Yes. Just open the app, hit the "options" button, hit, "uninstall loader" and close the app. Your device will reboot and it'll be gone.
  16. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Jul 26, 2010
    It does not unlock the phone. In fact, if you've upgraded to stock 4.2.1, then you've lost your unlock capability, since the new baseband is currently not unlockable. There is a way to install an unlockable baseband using redsn0w, but if you do it, you won't be able to ever install a stock firmware again, or restore to factory default.
  17. macrumors newbie

    Dec 9, 2009
    You rule! Worked like a charm after not working the regular way on iPad tethered 4.2.1.
  18. macrumors regular

    May 19, 2010
    Strange question perhaps, but why does this work?
  19. macrumors member

    Sep 27, 2007
    Brisbane, Australia
    This. I'm using my iPhone tethered to my laptop for internet and I think this is the reason why i keep getting jailbreak failed errors. I've tried it about 100 times (windows version, fyi)... and every time has failed, and i've tried everything that I can find to fix it and nothing.

    Does anyone have the cached payload files from a succesful iPhone 4 jailbreak using GP RC5 that I can use to test? They would be "iBSS.n90ap & kernelcache.release.n90"

    Anyone have these files that they could upload for me? Thanks :)
  20. macrumors newbie

    Feb 6, 2011
    Failed error on GP jailbreak - iPad

    Thanks for this, worked a treat!!!!
  21. macrumors newbie

    Apr 4, 2010
    Hello! I need a hand!

    I've done this Redsn0w method with a few iPod touches and iPhones! However, today I got my first 2nd Gen MC model. When I do all the same thing as I did with the other iPods and iPhones, Redsn0w simply doesn't let me do it, because it doesn't support MC models. I have no idea how to get Cydia onto it, as the Loader server is down!

    Any help would be very appreciated.
  22. macrumors newbie

    Feb 17, 2011

    Thanks! Now I just need to get past this darn passcode. Could somebody help??
  23. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Jul 26, 2010
    What do you mean?
  24. macrumors regular

    Jan 24, 2008

    dont know why opening greenpois0n directly doesnt work, but this does.

    I was going CRAZY until I found this !

    thank you so much !

    (any idea why this works?)
  25. macrumors newbie

    Sep 5, 2011
    Omg thank you cydia maker

    :d your the best !!!!!

Share This Page