Some RAM and HD tips for a new mac user!

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by shoaib, Jun 24, 2006.

  1. shoaib macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2006
    Location:
    South Wales, UK
    #1
    Hi Guys and Girls,

    I am about to take the plunge and convert from PC to Mac and I would like some advice.

    I am going to buy a New Macbook with the 2.0ghz processor. I am also going to upgrade the RAM. I will do this myself to save money and I am a little confused as to what configuration of RAM to have. I really only have enough money to buy a 1GB stick. So will this combined with one of the 256mb sticks give good performance? I will probably add another 1GB stick when I have the money.

    As regards to the Hard drive, I have looked at a couple of different models and are unsure if they are compatible, and the process that I would have to go though to format them etc

    http://www.dabs.com/productview.asp...11154,4294960494,41580000,42240000,4294957678

    http://www.dabs.com/productview.asp...60494,42240000,41580000,40970000&v=2#infoarea

    Any advice would be very helpful!
     
  2. CanadaRAM macrumors G5

    CanadaRAM

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2004
    Location:
    On the Left Coast - Victoria BC Canada
    #2
    1 Gb installed plus 256 from stock is viable, yes.

    The Seagate looks to be compatible

    The Fujitsu is a bit fuzzier - the specs say Serial ATA 150 but the part description seems to say UltraATA/100. Either way it's only 4200 RPM so I would take a pass on that.
     
  3. dmw007 macrumors G4

    dmw007

    Joined:
    May 26, 2005
    Location:
    Working for MI-6
    #3
    1.25GB of RAM will be okay, but as soon as you can max it out to 2GB do it.

    If you are going to buy a new HDD for the MacBook, then go for at least a 5,400 rpm model, 7,200 rpm if you can.
     
  4. shoaib thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2006
    Location:
    South Wales, UK
    #4
    Ah ok yeah i thought that was the case but i heard some people saying the a matching pair was required!

    Yep the seagate was my prefered choice, I wanted to see what others thought! Are there any 7200 rpm models of 100gb or more avalible in the UK?

    Thanks for the advice CanadaRAM and dmw007!!

    Has anyone installed a new HD in there macbook? I would be interested how they did it in terms of the 1st switch on after installation?

    Also after new RAM is put into the mac, does anything need to be installed or done?
     
  5. dmw007 macrumors G4

    dmw007

    Joined:
    May 26, 2005
    Location:
    Working for MI-6
    #5
    Recommended, not required. :)

    Nope, just enjoy the boost in performance. :)
     
  6. CanadaRAM macrumors G5

    CanadaRAM

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2004
    Location:
    On the Left Coast - Victoria BC Canada
    #6
    And as painfully illustrated in two recent threads.... run your brand new machine in its stock condition for at least a few days - to eleimate the possibilityh of a DOA or failure of the original equipment - before you go hotrodding the hardware OR installing Bootcamp.
     
  7. shoaib thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2006
    Location:
    South Wales, UK
    #7
    So your saying to run the mac with all the factory settings and spec first to make sure that everything is well and running. Then replace the HD and RAM?

    So I will need to format the new HD before I re install mac os? How do I go about doing this?
     
  8. Deimo macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2005
    #8
    Don't know the truth behind the comment, but one of the employees in the apple store midtown (the cube) said that the mb's had 2x256 chips because matching chips were required for the graphics processor.
     
  9. shoaib thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2006
    Location:
    South Wales, UK
    #9
    Right ok, I have heard people saying this! Im really confused what to do!
     
  10. mrcymru macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2006
    #10
    Hey Tom

    To format the HD, there's an option on the Mac OS X install CD I believe.

    If the 256 MB won't work with the 1024 MB RAM, just run the single Gig. It'll still be very fast :)

    Just buy the damn thing and start experimenting ;) The sooner you're away from the PC you've got the better!!

    Au revoir

    Dom
     

Share This Page