Some Small Problems (brightness; icon alignment)

Discussion in 'macOS' started by Variant, Mar 31, 2006.

1. Variant macrumors 6502

Variant

Hi, I'm still fairly new to the mac (iMac) and I had two questions that I was hoping you guys/gals could help me with.

1. After I turn on my Imac the display is set to the lowest brightness and I have to turn it up every time.

2. For some reason the icons in Finder align in to columns instead of three. It's really annoying to have to make the window bigger each time. Also, the icons are at the default size.

I searched and didn't find any answers to these questions, so sorry if its already been asked.

Thankyou in advance for the help.

2. pashazade macrumors member

Not seen this before but it certainly isn't right. I would normally say trash your preferences file but I don't know which one handles this. It is probably 'com.apple.systempreferences.plist' but that will mean you lose ALL your preferences.

This is a known issue with Finder, it has trouble 'remembering' it's settings. John Siracuse of Arstechnica has discussed many of the finder bugs.

"I also see a lot of complaints about the how the non-browser features of the Finder interfere with pure file browsing. ("Why can't I force all my browser windows to use list view by default?") ..."

http://arstechnica.com/reviews/os/macosx-10.4.ars/18

3. mad jew Moderator emeritus

mad jew

For this, I'd try resetting the PRAM. I've never heard of this before and the most likely cause is a corrupt Energy Saver setting IMO.

For this, I'd go to every spot you open new Finder windows from, open one, resize to make columns of three, close and reopen to reset their size. For me, this is just the Finder icon in the Dock but you may have a few other locations you want to resize too. :)

4. samanthas macrumors regular

"After I turn on my Imac the display is set to the lowest brightness and I have to turn it up every time."