Sony and Immersion Kiss and Make Up

Discussion in 'Games' started by sikkinixx, Mar 1, 2007.

  1. sikkinixx macrumors 68020

    sikkinixx

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2005
    Location:
    Rocketing through the sky!
    #1
    http://ps3.ign.com/articles/769/769390p1.html


    wow didn't think this would happen. Well Sony, way to delay that about 6 months more than your should have.

    "future products"? argh! Do it for PS3 so my friends stop complaining about lack of rumble...
     
  2. Dagless macrumors Core

    Dagless

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2005
    Location:
    Fighting to stay in the EU
    #2
    I thought it was a good thing Rumble was gone?
     
  3. MRU macrumors demi-god

    MRU

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2005
    Location:
    Ireland
    #3
    Damn, I was just this very moment about to post this.

    YEY! I get my rumble back, but I thought rumble & the sixaxis was impossible ;)
     
  4. sikkinixx thread starter macrumors 68020

    sikkinixx

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2005
    Location:
    Rocketing through the sky!
    #4
    yeah but now Sony will say that suddenly Immersion will get "new technology" that is NOW compatable with the SIXAXIS OMG! :rolleyes:

    Personally I would like to see Sony say "look...we didn't include it because we were dumb, people seem to love it so we are adding it back in. Sorry for screwing those you adopted early. You get a $10 off coupon for a new rumble SixAxis. Thanks for buying our products no matter what crap we spew."
     
  5. Coded-Dude macrumors 6502a

    Coded-Dude

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2007
    Location:
    Sacramento, CA
    #5
    there goes more naysayer ammo, right out the window.........:p
     
  6. MRU macrumors demi-god

    MRU

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2005
    Location:
    Ireland
    #6
    But old games wont support rumble will they ? Sony best inform developers so they can add rumble to the games ASAP.

    Maybe downloadable patch for some games could add rumble ?
     
  7. zap2 macrumors 604

    zap2

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2005
    Location:
    Washington D.C
    #7
    No, it means you know Sony lies. They said rumle is last gen, as they work on it for new products. If they add is, people with PS3 get screwed, plus old game lack support. If they don't add it, then rumble still isn't here
     
  8. Coded-Dude macrumors 6502a

    Coded-Dude

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2007
    Location:
    Sacramento, CA
    #8
    um...we know they all lie, but for all the haters that complain that PS3 has no rumble, can now ****, because Sony has given in to your(not you, them - lol) bickering.

    The only people who are out are people who bought controlers with no rumble.
    (they have to buy new $49+ contollers)

    Are you trying to say launch PS3's can't and/or won't support rumble?

    As for launch games, will not even all PS2 games support rumble AFAIK.
    (its no big deal)
     
  9. sikkinixx thread starter macrumors 68020

    sikkinixx

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2005
    Location:
    Rocketing through the sky!
    #10
    If MS can add 1080p support over a patch, I imagine rumble can be added to a few dozen gmes :)
     
  10. Dagless macrumors Core

    Dagless

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2005
    Location:
    Fighting to stay in the EU
    #11
    They are 2 very different updates. 1080p just upscales the game, doesn't rely on patches being installed into individual games. Rumble would have too making the patches unique to each game.

    Else you'd end up with one of them Mega Drive/SNES rumble jackets that vibrated at silly moments.
     
  11. ictiosapiens macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 9, 2006
    #12
    This is really good news... Shame sony's PR is so crap.

    They could spin this whole thing around and make themeselves look like the good guys who listen to their costumers and were wrong in the past.

    I for one am happy to trade the BC chip for a bit of rumble...

    Let's see how long it takes them to implement it...
     
  12. Cooknn macrumors 68020

    Cooknn

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2003
    Location:
    Fort Myers, FL
    #14
    I could care less about rumble. For me this is all about force feedback for Formula One: Championship Edition. Hopefully they can patch it. This sim is gonna ROCK with FF :D
     
  13. e²Studios macrumors 68020

    e²Studios

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2005
    #15
    pssst it has FF, so does GTHD Concept too :D

    FF is logitech technology not Immersion :)

    Ed
     
  14. Cooknn macrumors 68020

    Cooknn

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2003
    Location:
    Fort Myers, FL
    #16
    F1:CE does not have force feedback. Unless it's locked away to be released with the flip of a virtual switch. And, Logitech licenses the technology from Immersion.

    1998 - Immersion partners with Logitech to launch first Logitech Wingman force feedback gaming product. Since then, Logitech’s critically acclaimed line of Wingman gaming products using Immersion’s patented TouchSense® technology have grown to become the most successful line of force feedback products in the world.
     
  15. e²Studios macrumors 68020

    e²Studios

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2005
    #17
    F1:CE Supports FF so long as your Logitech wheel supports it :) So does GTHD Concept.

    Ed
     
  16. Cooknn macrumors 68020

    Cooknn

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2003
    Location:
    Fort Myers, FL
    #18
    Sorry, Ed, but you're wrong - at least about F1:CE - I did hear reports about some "resistance" with certain ff wheels in the Japanese version of GTHD though...
     

Share This Page