Sony DCR-HC19E & Intel Mac iMovie HD

Discussion in 'Digital Video' started by inuendo, Mar 28, 2006.

  1. inuendo macrumors newbie

    Mar 28, 2006

    is there anyone out there who can tell me how to get this combination of a sony DCR-HC19E and an INTEL MAC MINI using iMOVIE HD to work? the last days i'm trying around to get this thing to work! i've bought the required firewire cable, but it still says: can't connect to the camer!!! then i checked all possible things like updating the system, set the right time on the camcorder, tried different settings on the camcorder (with and without usb stream, ...), restarted the mac several times but still no success!!!

    is it possible that this camera doesn't work with iMovie HD? (although it should ...) or is it a bug in iMovie HD?

    would be so happy if you could post some helpful ideas!

  2. Church macrumors regular


    May 9, 2005
    I had troubles with my Sony camcorder, iMovie and my eMac. Try playing a few notes on the keyboard in garageband, quit out, open iMovie and see what happens.
  3. inuendo thread starter macrumors newbie

    Mar 28, 2006
    thanks for the idea, but even then iMovie is not willing to connect to my camcorder ... no success.

    short note: i'm actually runnin 10.4.5 on my system.
  4. LethalWolfe macrumors G3


    Jan 11, 2002
    Los Angeles
  5. inuendo thread starter macrumors newbie

    Mar 28, 2006
    thanks for the link, ... but still no success, damn ... :confused: ... i've checked the firewire port in the system profiler and it only says firewire 400 hub, no camera or anything like that found! ... today i'm getting over to the next store and get me some new cable, maybe it's all wrong with that. maybe that's the last chance to get this combination up and running.
  6. Artful Dodger macrumors 68020

    Artful Dodger

    May 28, 2004
    In a false sense of reality...My Mind!
    I don't mean to cover the basics but did you have the Sony set on play after you rewound the tape? Or whatever setting to playback the video and then hit the import on iMovie? I know my JVC has to be set to play then i need to click the little video cam and click the import or play button in iMovie or the tape/video just sits there and nothing happens.
    I also have an Intel iMac if this helps as my miniDV wasn't on the list either, even though I bought it in June '05.
    Hope this helps as you have a nice little miniDV there ;)
  7. The Senator macrumors regular

    The Senator

    Feb 18, 2006
    put the camera on VCR mode and make sure imovie is on import
  8. sparkcc macrumors newbie

    Mar 20, 2006
    Similar problem, different cam

    see my thread (sparkcc) have a similar problem with a TRV22E have tried all you have mentioned including a different firewire cable. Tried a JVC model connected straight away!!!!
  9. brnbenefield macrumors newbie


    Apr 6, 2006

    u mite what to take ur mac mini to the apple store they well most like or call
    their support # it should be in the mac hand book now if u have a apple care plan it well be free good luck
  10. kaeptn macrumors newbie


    Mar 12, 2006
    Vienna, Austria
    I'm having the same problem. It's a different cam, it's the Sony DCR-TRV60E. Always when I plug in the Firewire cable the camera shows "DV IN" on the display. But shouldn't it rather been "DV OUT"??
    I can't find any settings on the camera to change this.
    Anybody any ideas how I can get this working?
    It's a G4 Mac mini btw.
    and iMovie 5, OS X 10.3.9

  11. rjphoto macrumors 6502a


    Mar 7, 2005
    That's what it is supposed to do until you switch over to import on in iMovie and hit the play button.
    The camera is seeing the computer as an input device.
  12. kaeptn macrumors newbie


    Mar 12, 2006
    Vienna, Austria
    Hi, yes, but iMovie says "no connection to camera", and the import button is disabled.

    Any other hints?


    PS: I've another Sony cam (DCR-H18E) and it works flawlessly with iMovie. (ok. this cam doesn't support DV-IN at all...)

Share This Page