Sorry guys, another stupid question about 360 and monitors...

Discussion in 'Games' started by bluewire, Mar 29, 2007.

  1. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2006
    Location:
    Bay Area, California
    #1
    If you buy a monitor with a 16:10 aspect ratio, if you hook that up to your 360 and output at 720i, are there two small black bars top and bottom of the screen since the 16:10 is a tad bigger then the 720i 16:9 output?

    I see a cheap monitor and am curious about this but wasn't sure...or can you stretch it out? to fill the screen?
     
  2. macrumors 603

    swiftaw

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2005
    Location:
    Omaha, NE, USA
    #2
    How would you connect to the monitor? VGA? If so it eould display at the native resolution of the monitor.
     
  3. thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2006
    Location:
    Bay Area, California
    #3
    I guess it'd be VGA. The monitor I'm looking at doesn't have a DVI port.

    I am planning to buy a huge HDTV but probably not for a year. In lieu of that, I was considering buying a cheap widescreen monitor to hold me over until that time (could always use an extra monitor anyways). Found a nice cheap one at Costco but was just curious...I guess I'm borderline OCD because the black bars would probably drive me nuts (LOL even thou they would comprise the tiniest of margins). That said, I'd still do it but was, again, just curious.
     
  4. macrumors 603

    swiftaw

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2005
    Location:
    Omaha, NE, USA
    #4
    One thing you also have to remember is that a monitor has no capability to produce sound, so what would you do for audio?
     
  5. thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2006
    Location:
    Bay Area, California
    #5
    Yeah I thought about that. Going to plug it into an old mini stero unit with speakers. Actually, looking back, the monitor has built in speakers. I bet its not the right input tho for split audio, is there a audio adapter to go into a mic port?

    Damn I realized how ghetto this set up is going to be. :eek:
     
  6. macrumors 68040

    Mackilroy

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2006
    #6
    I use my 360 on occasion with my 20" Dell monitor. Sound goes into my speaker set I got for Christmas, while I use VGA to connect to the monitor. There are no black bars of any kind in spite of what resolution I pick. :)

    Also, the VGA cable comes with a plug that combines the audio into one jack. :)
     
  7. macrumors 68030

    risc

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2004
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    #7
    On my 360 if I use it via VGA on a 16:10 monitor the picture is stretched. There are no 16:10 resolutions available to choose from.
     
  8. thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2006
    Location:
    Bay Area, California
    #8
    How is the picture quality?

    Damn if only my native HD 2' iMac had some video in ports!!!!!!!! :(
     
  9. thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2006
    Location:
    Bay Area, California
    #9
    Also, is the stretching pretty bad or is it a non issue?
     
  10. macrumors 68030

    risc

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2004
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    #10
    The picture quality is great. I got used to the stretching pretty quickly but I do prefer to play on a native 16:9 display.

    Here's hoping Microsoft release an update to display 16:10 sooner rather than later (or never).
     
  11. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2005
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario
    #11
    It pretty much will do 1360 x 768 on most monitors, it is a little more stretched than 720p. Most games you won't notice a thing, but some games are different. PGR3 was weird when I did it, same thing I hear about PDZ too.

    But, the quality is damn good.
     

Share This Page