Sorry Lazy Ass MP Memory Question

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by MRU, Oct 13, 2006.

  1. MRU macrumors demi-god

    MRU

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2005
    Location:
    Ireland
    #1
    Sorry everyone, I've had an horrid day with one thing and another and really havent the energy to search - but I'm sure you'll over look my laziness just this once ;) :)

    So my mac pro should be here soonish (well as soon as Apple stop sending out the wrong model :rolleyes: ) -- anyway I'm about to go ordering more memory.

    So tell me

    adding an extra 1gb as 2 x 512mb so I have a total of 2gb (4 x 512mb) is that better because of the way the mac pro runs than purchasing
    2gb as 2 x 1gb so I have a total of 3gb (2x 512mb / 2 x 1gb)

    I am assuming the latter 3gb would be better regardless as it is more and therefore the benefit of and extra 1gb is more than the speed boost from running 4 pairs of the same... However I may be wrong so please set me straight on this one and save me from this long fustrating day :)
     
  2. CanadaRAM macrumors G5

    CanadaRAM

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2004
    Location:
    On the Left Coast - Victoria BC Canada
    #2
    From my read of the documentation, I think you will get 256-bit access to memory as long as you have RAM ins sockets 1 and 2 of the upper riser and 1 and 2 of the lower riser. They do not have to match for capacity. So you should get full speed access by putting 2 x 1 Gb along with the 2 x 512 stock, and you'll have that extra Gig of RAM space to play with.

    As usual, price out the reputable third party sellers who test and guarantee MacPro compatibility, before ordering Apple RAM.

    Thanks
    Trevor
    CanadaRAM.com
     
  3. California macrumors 68040

    California

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2004
    #3
    I don't even have an Intel yet but I'm not happy unless my Macs are maxed out. Personally, I'd hold off on the 512 sticks until I could afford to max it out. Sorry that that's not a technical reason -- but may be a financial one. Gives you time to shop for cheaper 1gb sticks, at least.
     
  4. suneohair macrumors 68020

    suneohair

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2006
    #4
    It would cost quite a bit to max out a MP at 16GB...
     
  5. lowfi macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2006
    Location:
    Geneva, Suisse
  6. ljones macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2006
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    #6
    I have the default 2 512 and 2 1gig for the total if 3gigs. To my surprise, i could actually use a LOT more. Which is why i opted for the 2 gig kit. That way i can keep those, and add either more 1 gigs, or mix, 4 1gig and 4 2gigs when the prices fall.
     
  7. MRU thread starter macrumors demi-god

    MRU

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2005
    Location:
    Ireland
    #7

    Thanks very much for that Canada ram.

    I'm going with Crucial simply because they're reliable. I know they arent the cheapest but €470 for 2gb compared to €625 from apple seems fair enough and at least their heatsinks are all apple approved...


    Do you supply to MR members outside of USA & Canada ? Your prices would be much nicer for me $518 CAD = €365 :)
     

Share This Page