Sound on a PM G5?

Discussion in 'Macintosh Computers' started by RobHague, Jul 17, 2005.

  1. RobHague macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2005
    #1
    I find that the processor, graphics, operating system and everything else is covered in detail about the Power MAC G5 on apples site - but i couldnt seem to find any info on the sound card/chip it uses. I am assuming there is one built in?

    Anyone got any info? Thanks
     
  2. Nickygoat macrumors 6502a

    Nickygoat

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2004
    Location:
    London
    #2
    On my system profiler it gives this:
    Built In Sound Card:

    Devices:
    Texas Instruments TAS3004:
    Inputs and Outputs:
    Line Level Input:
    Controls: Left, Right
    Playthrough: No
    PluginID: TAS
    Headphones:
    Controls: Mute, Left, Right
    PluginID: TAS
    Internal Speakers:
    Controls: Mute, Master
    PluginID: TAS
    Line Level Output:
    Controls: Mute, Left, Right
    PluginID: TAS
    Crystal Semiconductor CS84xx:
    Inputs and Outputs:
    S/PDIF Digital Input:
    Controls: Mute
    Playthrough: No
    PluginID: Topaz
    S/PDIF Digital Output:
    Controls: Mute
    PluginID: Topaz
    Formats:
    PCM 16:
    Bit Depth: 16
    Bit Width: 16
    Channels: 2
    Mixable: Yes
    Sample Rates: 32 KHz, 44.1 KHz, 48 KHz
    PCM 24:
    Bit Depth: 24
    Bit Width: 32
    Channels: 2
    Mixable: Yes
    Sample Rates: 32 KHz, 44.1 KHz, 48 KHz
    AC3 16:
    Bit Depth: 16
    Bit Width: 16
    Channels: 2
    Mixable: No
    Sample Rates: 32 KHz, 44.1 KHz, 48 KHz

    It's a DP1.8, but I've got no idea what half of it means :D
     
  3. RobHague thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2005
    #3
    Strikes me as odd that the system is plugged for video/photo and music and the most important feature of a machine for use in producing/editing music is surley the sound card.

    Can you add a soundcard to the PM?
     
  4. CanadaRAM macrumors G5

    CanadaRAM

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2004
    Location:
    On the Left Coast - Victoria BC Canada
    #4
    Why is the brand of the "sound card" important to you? :confused:

    It is integrated on the motherboard and IIRC is a proprietary Apple chip that processes other DSP functions as well. Audio support is integrated in OSX, there is no need for drivers for the onboard audio. Digital audio input and output is available with a optical (Toslink) Connector, and supports DTS and Dolby surround pass-through.

    http://docs.info.apple.com/article.html?artnum=86438
    http://docs.info.apple.com/article.html?artnum=86415

    You can add a sound card, through a PCI card, USB external or Firewire external interface, depending on what your requirement is.
     
  5. aussie_geek macrumors 65816

    aussie_geek

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2004
    Location:
    Sydney Australia
    #5
    Beware of unwanted noise

    If you are using the G5 for audio work, seriously consider getting an audio card.

    G5's are notoriously known for having a noisy power supply that bleeds sound into the audio system - you can hear the 'system chirps' through the speakers when set at high volume. It will be OK for general consumer use but as for pro audio, get a card.

    There are numerous threads about this on the Apple Discussion boards. Just have a look here.

    If the link does not work, just search 'audio noise interference'. In the G5 usage thread.

    I own one (see sig) and the noises are present. Since I don't do that much music work any more, it doesn't bother me.


    aussie_geek
     
  6. dmw007 macrumors G4

    dmw007

    Joined:
    May 26, 2005
    Location:
    Working for MI-6
    #6
    Well, I have not had any audio problems with my Power Mac G5 (yet- *crosses fingers*) and I am playing tunes on here most of the time. But I will probably still go and buy a sound card at some point in the near future (especially now that I know about this problem :eek: ).
     

Share This Page