Sound out of sync

Discussion in 'Digital Video' started by gic2k3, Jan 4, 2006.

  1. gic2k3 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2006
    #1
    Hi again...

    New problem....

    Have captured my old wedding from VHS to imovie through Miglia directors cut...
    It plays fine in imovie and quality is also good...
    I have used IDVD and Dvd studio Pro to make the DVD..

    But when I play it in my standalone DVD player or on my mac the sound is out of sync...WHY.....
    Have never had this problem when making my home videos from DV...
     
  2. virus1 macrumors 65816

    virus1

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2004
    Location:
    LOST
    #2
    strange.. and this happens for both idvd and dvd studio pro?
     
  3. Texas04 macrumors 6502a

    Texas04

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2005
    Location:
    Texas
    #3
    Does it happen when you preview it on your mac?
    What kind of mac do u have?
     
  4. gic2k3 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2006
    #4
    Just watched the preview in DVD Studio Pro and it's also out of sync...
    That's strange, thought it was the encoding...

    Should I try to capture into FCP instead of Imovie...?


    My mac is:

    G5 dual 2.3
    With 2.5 GB DDR SDRAM
     
  5. Lacero macrumors 604

    Lacero

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2005
    #5
    Is the sound coming in as 32Khz or 48Khz?

    DVD spec calls for 16-bit 48KHz audio. Make sure to convert any non-48Khz audio to 48Khz. Timecode breaks are also cause for out-of-sync issues, but it's hard to say as I've never used the Miglia Director's cut product.

    Here's to the Crazy Ones [​IMG]
     
  6. adk macrumors 68000

    adk

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2005
    Location:
    Stuck in the middle with you
    #6
    I remember reading in a david pogue book that some type of audio encoding will slowly get the audio out of sync over long periods of time. I'd help you more, but it was a library book.
     
  7. gic2k3 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2006
    #7
    My last clip was 1 hour and 40 min...maybe that's the problem

    But when capturing the movie it makes only one long clip...

    Is that because it's coming from analog...

    Can FCP automatic make clips that are 20 minutes or do I have to manually make small clips when capturing...

    Or can I just cut my long clip into small pieces after capturing....

    What do you think???
     
  8. LethalWolfe macrumors G3

    LethalWolfe

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2002
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    #8
    Sometimes long captures makes the synch drift. W/o device control and timecode you can't batch capture w/FCP so you'll have to manually break the capture process down into about 20 minute chunks.

    Cutting the clip up after the fact won't help because the damage has already been done.


    Lethal
     
  9. Lacero macrumors 604

    Lacero

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2005
    #9
    If the sync is bad enough, you might want to capture in 20, 10 or 5 minute chunks.

    Hard to say how much sync drift you're getting. Are you capturing at 29.97 frames per second and 48Khz or 32Khz?
    Here's to the Crazy Ones [​IMG]
     
  10. gic2k3 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2006
    #10
    Thx Lacero

    I will give it a try later today in 20 min. chunks...

    It's Pal 25 frames..
     
  11. warnergt macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2006
    #11
    I used to have a similar problem. Audio and video can drift out of sync
    as they are often clocked by independent oscillators.

    The solution is a hassle but not too bad. The good news is that
    you don't have to recapture it if you still have the iMovie project.

    Within iMovie, break up the movie into segments. Ideally, make
    the breaks at scene changes. Try to keep the clips shorter than
    five minutes. You may need more or less time depending on your
    degree of drifting but this will probably be fine.

    Once you have your movie segments. Use the iMovie "extract audio"
    function for each segment (except the very first segment which won't
    matter). You can go to the timeline view to better see what is happening.
    This step will separate audio from video and lock the audio segment to the
    video segment at the beginning (you'll see little pushpins in the time line).

    Now, you can create your DVD with iDVD. All should be fine. The
    audio/video will be resynchronized at the beginning of each clip.
    You probably won't even notice it happening; it will just work fine.


    One other note:
    I'm not totally familiar with Miglia directors cut but I don't doubt
    that it is similar to the Canopus ADVC converters which I have used.
    The ADVC converters have a jumper setting for "locked audio" which
    locks the audio clock to the video clock. Counterintuitively, I had to
    "unlock" my setting for my audio/video sync problem to go away.
    You may want to look for such a setting on your Miglia hardware.
    You may be able to avoid this extra work all together.
     
  12. shuffle1 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2004
    #12
    I had the same problem...

    ...and found a solution. My projects were in NTSC and I was capturing 10 year old wedding footage with a Canopus ADVC converter into iMovie. After adding effects and rendering correctly, I would export to iDVD, only to have the finished product be out of sync. Someone finally suggested that I EXTRACT the audio in iMovie, which converts it to 16-bit (which Lacero mentioned), and I've never had a problem since. Incidentally, I've also never had a problem with long clips. Those wedding clips were at least 45 minutes each.
     
  13. gic2k3 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2006
    #13
    Thx for all your answers...

    Have captured my clips at 10-12 minutes each..
    And had no sync failure, when making the dvd in dvd studio pro...:)
     

Share This Page