Sound

Discussion in 'Digital Video' started by silverback66, Oct 26, 2005.

1. silverback66 macrumors regular

I've been using a Canon Xl1 with a Beachtek XLR adapter for a couple years now, but I'd really like to free the microphone from the camera and if possible get even higher quality sound. I was thinking about something like this:

http://www.amazon.com/exec/obidos/t...d=I27EOFKRNBDK7G&v=glance&colid=3VE0EKCIREUGU

Does anyone have any experience with that or anything similar? I just want to get a feel for what I can expect and if it's worth the investment. By the way this will be used for film production work so I really need to get the best quality audio I can.

2. robx2 macrumors member

We use the MD660s at our journalism school for recording audio documentary pieces. They're pretty awesome... mainly because you can just drag the audio in as a file from the Compact Flash card rather than having to capture it in real time like on a miniDisc or a DAT. Good sound quality with the XLR inputs and much more portable and less bulky than their predecessor the MD670.

My main complaint is that many of the options are buried inside an esoteric menu system that's a little confusing at first and hard to change quickly on the fly. (Mainly because I get tired of having to explain the layout to students working on their first audio projects).

Also, I think they're still a little pricy. I think Digital Audio Recorders are about where digital cameras were a few years ago. Prices will fall, storage capacities will increase, etc. But that could take a while.

As far as being significantly better quality than your Beachtek, that I don't know. Is the main reason you want to go with an external setup that you're doing a lot of location stuff where you don't want to be tethered to the camera?

3. silverback66 thread starter macrumors regular