Soundtrack

Discussion in 'General Mac Discussion' started by mmmdreg, Aug 21, 2003.

1. mmmdreg macrumors 65816

mmmdreg

I'm a student. I'm just wondering. Is Soundtrack a Cubase-ish kinda app? Like is it for the same purpose?

2. Marble macrumors 6502a

Marble

It looks like it, but it doesn't appear to support any kind of MIDI input. I would be surprised if it didn't support Audio Units, though. The real Apple "Cubase-like app" is Logic, which, in my opinion, beats the pants off of Cubase.

3. Flowbee macrumors 68030

Flowbee

It's more like an Acid-ish kind of app. Arranging loops and such.

4. tjwett macrumors 68000

tjwett

not much like Cubase. more like Acid. you arrange pre-made loops to make a song. like eJay, only not as lame.

5. WinterMute Moderator emeritus

WinterMute

It also records audio, which gives it a different dimension, plus it has a huge range of FX plug-ins from Logic and the ability to use AU plug-ins.

Even without the midi the loop stretching and tempo correction are cool.

6. tjwett macrumors 68000

tjwett

yeah, i guess it's more like Ableton Live, only way more bloated. i'm not crapping on it or anything, it's good, i have it. but it will never take the place of Ableton Live, for me atleast. i think it's really geared towards consumer/amateur/semi-pro video artists who need a decent soundtrack in a pinch. two different markets i guess. good little product overall. oh, i do like that i can use my Logic Platinum fx in there, that's kewl.

7. LethalWolfe macrumors G3

LethalWolfe

I disagree slightly. I think it is a very useful tool for video pros.
    Below is the begining of Dan Brockett's piece on Soundtrack which is posted over at kenstone.net

"The Value Proposition