Source destination in FCP?

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by seriypshick, Sep 30, 2005.

  1. seriypshick macrumors member

    seriypshick

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2005
    Location:
    Everywhere
  2. LethalWolfe macrumors G3

    LethalWolfe

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2002
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    #3
    It lets you route your incoming (source) A/V tracks onto the timeline. For example, let's say you want your source video to appear on V3 on and your source audio to appear on A5 and A6. you simple move the "V1" icon on the left(source) up to the "V3" icon on the right (timeline) and the "A1" and "A2" icons on the left to the "A5" and "A6" icons on the right, respectively.

    Or, let's say you just want video from your source but no audio. Simply click on the source (left) "A1" and "A2" icons and they will separate from the icons on the right. This will make it so only "V1" will be edited into the timeline.


    Lethal
     
  3. seriypshick thread starter macrumors member

    seriypshick

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2005
    Location:
    Everywhere
    #4
    I still don't get it.

    What source? What destination? What changes when I move theese things around? It doesn't seem like anything changes when I move theese things.
     
  4. Lacero macrumors 604

    Lacero

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2005
    #5
    A1 and A2 are the Left and Right channels of the audio in your video clip. When you move them around, you are basically moving the channels to which destination track you are laying down.
     
  5. seriypshick thread starter macrumors member

    seriypshick

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2005
    Location:
    Everywhere
    #6
    So when I do this:
    [​IMG]
    It basicaly changes left chanel to right and right chanel to left. Right?
     
  6. Lacero macrumors 604

    Lacero

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2005
    #7
    No. It just moves the A1 channel onto a different track in the timeline. To reverse stereo, you need to open up the video clip in the viewer and set the panning left or right.
     
  7. seriypshick thread starter macrumors member

    seriypshick

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2005
    Location:
    Everywhere
    #8
    Ok, thanks.

    However, I still don't get it. (Or maybe I do, but I don't see where I can use this).

    Can someone give me a link to a tutorial or something.

    P.S. Sorry for being annoying.
     
  8. Lacero macrumors 604

    Lacero

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2005
    #9
    You'll get it after editing a bit more. You may not find it useful for stereo pair video clips but they become important when working with dual channel video clips.

    A tutorial of target tracks here.
     
  9. seriypshick thread starter macrumors member

    seriypshick

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2005
    Location:
    Everywhere
    #10
    I get it now

    It works only when you drag clips to the canvas but not with timeline editing.

    Thank You, Lacero & others.
     

Share This Page