SP2 upgrade in bootcamp

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by wmmk, Dec 4, 2006.

  1. wmmk macrumors 68020

    wmmk

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2006
    Location:
    The Library.
    #1
    ok, so i spent a whole day installing windows on my MBP, only to find that it wasn't slipstreamed properly. still, i had the SP2 installer right on my iPod, so I tried to run it. it told me i needed 4 MB of extra space. sorry, not buyin' that. nLite won't even run to clean the CD up, and I don't know what to do!
    thanks in advance for the help,
    wmmk
     
  2. SiliconAddict macrumors 603

    SiliconAddict

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2003
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    #2
    You got an SP1 XP disk to install o_O
    I thought the the install choked on such disks?
     
  3. wmmk thread starter macrumors 68020

    wmmk

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2006
    Location:
    The Library.
    #3
    so did I! I thought I was installing an SP2 disk. The drivers aren't installing properly, and when I go to system info, it definitely says SP1. Weird, isn't it!?!
     
  4. bigandy macrumors G3

    bigandy

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2004
    Location:
    Murka
    #4
    Bootcamp requires an SP2 disc. not slipstreamed or "i've got it on another cd"...

    that's why you're having trouble. If you use an SP2 copy it'll take less than an hour end to end.

    EDIT: saw your post above, just took a while to write this ;)
     
  5. balamw Moderator

    balamw

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Location:
    New England
    #5
    While that is so, there are plenty of people, myself included that have installed versions of XP outside Apple's "requirements."

    A slipstreamed CD is SP2.

    wmmk you could try starting off by removing the $OEM$ and SVCPACK folders and SVCPACK.INF files from the files you copy from the SP1a CD before you try the slipstreaming again. I can't find the article that first suggested that...

    B
     
  6. theman5725 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2006
    #6
    The 4MB thing happened to me too. Boot Camp simply will not work with an SP1 install for some reason. I installed with SP2 later and it works fine.
     
  7. wmmk thread starter macrumors 68020

    wmmk

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2006
    Location:
    The Library.
    #7
    i'm confused as to what you mean. slipstreaming is combining an update onto an older disk. i'm pretty sure that plenty of other people have slipstreamed SP2 with SP1 and installed t just fine. anyway, what are you reccomending I do?
    thanks,
    wmmk
     
  8. wmmk thread starter macrumors 68020

    wmmk

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2006
    Location:
    The Library.
    #8
    sounds like a good idea. unfortunately, all i see is this:
     

    Attached Files:

  9. balamw Moderator

    balamw

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Location:
    New England
    #9
    I think they're in i386. Get rid of the *.sp1 file too.

    B
     
  10. wmmk thread starter macrumors 68020

    wmmk

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2006
    Location:
    The Library.
    #10
    sound the *.sp1, SVPACK.inf, and SVPACK folder.

    didn't find $OEM$
    anyway, spotlighting OEM gave me this:
     

    Attached Files:

  11. balamw Moderator

    balamw

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Location:
    New England
    #11
    You probably don't have one then... It's just for things like custom wallpaper and the like....

    Any luck?

    B
     
  12. wmmk thread starter macrumors 68020

    wmmk

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2006
    Location:
    The Library.
    #12
    haven't tried yet, still finishing up homework. i'll try in 15 minutes or so:)
     
  13. wmmk thread starter macrumors 68020

    wmmk

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2006
    Location:
    The Library.
    #13
    ok, so 15 minutes turned into 5 days!!!
    anyway, i removed all of the hotfixes on my disc, and now i have a folder with all of the files that would be on a normal retail XP SP1 CD. I also have a program that automates slipstreaming if you put in a disc and specify the .exe service pack installer. anyway, to get that to work, i need to get this folder and turn it into a bootable .iso, mount that, and fool windows into thinking that it's actually a CD. (I don't feel like wasting perfectly good discs.)
     
  14. balamw Moderator

    balamw

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Location:
    New England
    #14
    Don't have any CD-RWs handy? :p

    What software are you using as a virtual CD drive? (Since Windows doesn't do this out of the box). :rolleyes:

    B
     
  15. wmmk thread starter macrumors 68020

    wmmk

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2006
    Location:
    The Library.
    #15
    nope, can't say I do:mad:

    I don't get what you mean with this....
    are you just saying I can't get windows to mount an ISO and let a program think it's a real CD? or are you asking how i got the files off of the XP install disc?
     
  16. balamw Moderator

    balamw

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Location:
    New England
    #16
    Yup. Windows XP doesn't know how to do anything with an ISO out of the box. It has no way to create them or burn them or mount them without third party tools. Most CD burning suites come with one (e.g. Nero) and there are a bunch of other virtual CD tools.

    You could try this. http://www.slysoft.com/en/virtual-clonedrive.html if you don't already have some other tool for mounting ISOs.

    B
     
  17. wmmk thread starter macrumors 68020

    wmmk

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2006
    Location:
    The Library.
    #17
    i'll use that if doing it manually doesn't work, but I really would hate spending money on something I'll use only once. then again, i hate C: prompts!
     

Share This Page