Space requierd for IOS 7 update

Discussion in 'iOS 7' started by AnimAlu, Sep 17, 2013.

  1. macrumors newbie

    AnimAlu

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2012
    Location:
    Anaheim Hills, CA
    #1
    How much space will be required for the update? I have about 700mb free, will I need to delete some apps, or will IOS take care of this for me?

    Thanks!
     
  2. macrumors G3

    charlituna

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2008
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    #2
    You'll likely need more. I would have at least 2GB free.

    Now is a good time to purge apps you don't use, photos don't really need on yr device. I would then back everything up, do it as a restore and update not just an update. Clean installs often have fewer issues than patch jobs
     
  3. macrumors 6502

    navodwickra

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2013
    Location:
    Leeds, UK
    #3
    ipsw file is around 1.3GB. I updated from betas so I have no idea what will happen when you update from iOS 6 to 7 over the air.
     
  4. thread starter macrumors newbie

    AnimAlu

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2012
    Location:
    Anaheim Hills, CA
    #4
    Ahh, thanks for the info...will start deleting!
     
  5. macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2010
    #5
    One of the few REAL questions being asked here. For those tight on space, this could be an issue.

    Anyone know the OS operating memory variance from ios 6 to ios7?
     
  6. PNutts, Sep 17, 2013
    Last edited: Sep 17, 2013

    macrumors 601

    PNutts

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2008
    Location:
    Pacific Northwest, US
    #6
    OT: And don't forget to have your battery charged up! IIRC, typically there is a threshold and below that the update won't install.


    Edit: Just saw this link in another thread. iOS will let you know how much to delete if it fails. From the link:

    When updating wirelessly, your iOS device needs enough available space to download and install the update. If "Download and Install" is grayed out or you see the message "This update requires at least x.x GB of available storage", use one of the following options to update:
    ◾Use iTunes to download and install the update instead

    or
    ◾Remove content you no longer need from your device, including:
    <snip>
     
  7. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2012
    #7
    What i did was just restored as a new phone. this was a good thing because i was able to download the apps that i actually use. saved me like 8 gb lol
     
  8. macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2010
    #8
    Having enough room to actually install, and how much room it will need AFTER the install is two different things.

    Again, how much MORE room will IOS7 take than IOS6 once it is installed.


     
  9. thread starter macrumors newbie

    AnimAlu

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2012
    Location:
    Anaheim Hills, CA
    #9
    That's a good question...I'm going to compare before/after to find out...
     
  10. thread starter macrumors newbie

    AnimAlu

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2012
    Location:
    Anaheim Hills, CA
    #10
    Telling me it needs at least 3.0 GB for download...so there you go.
     
  11. macrumors member

    artguy10

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2009
    #11
    Bump. How much free space of that 3GB is left after upgrading to iOS 7?
     
  12. macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    Location:
    Bristol, UK
    #12
    Given Apple's comment about doing it through iTunes, it would appear that it doesn't take up any additional room.

    The update replaces the existing software.
     
  13. thread starter macrumors newbie

    AnimAlu

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2012
    Location:
    Anaheim Hills, CA
    #13
    Will let ya know...I started with 3.3GB before the download, let's see where I end up after installation. Still downloading...
     
  14. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2013
    #14
    From my experience in this, the 3GB space is only required to install, since the software extracts itself to the iPhone hard drive hence the preparing for update stage. The phones space will remain the same as you had with the previous version when installation is done.
     
  15. macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2010
    Location:
    NYC
    #15
    Yes you need 3.1GB to install but once it was installed I still had 3.1GB free. Just need to add back some videos I had off of iTunes. Forced me to delete apps I never use anyway. I lover starting fresh
     
  16. thread starter macrumors newbie

    AnimAlu

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2012
    Location:
    Anaheim Hills, CA
    #16
    OK weird. I started with 3.3 GB, after installation, I had 3.6. Just checked and now I have 3.9. Maybe it's deleting data files of some kind. Need to charge my phone, will explore more later...
     

Share This Page