Spaces has suddenly started making perfect sense

Discussion in 'Mac OS X Lion (10.7)' started by adamtj11, Mar 1, 2011.

  1. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2011
    Location:
    Belfast
    #1
    I absolutely love the way in lion the way you can flick between spaces with 3 finger swipe, its something i never would of used in a million years with Leopard or SL, but in lion it feels much more natural, feels like each space is another full screen app, plus i live the way mission control differentiates between the different spaces! another small but cool thing, Different wallpapers on each!!
     

    Attached Files:

  2. macrumors 6502

    Steve Ballmer

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2009
    Location:
    Redmond, WA
    #2
    I just hope they decide between either calling it "Spaces" or "Desktops."
     
  3. thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2011
    Location:
    Belfast
    #3
    lol yeah except Apple always like to label things their own way rather than what the standard industry name is for it. so spaces will probably stick around for a while yet.
     
  4. macrumors 6502a

    mrblack927

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2008
    #4
    Yeah except some of us have already been using spaces for years in 10.5 an 10.6 and now that's being taken away. The "grid view" layout was a million times easier to navigate than a long horizontal line. And your spaces didn't change and move around on their own, further making it difficult to work efficiently.
     
  5. thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2011
    Location:
    Belfast
    #5
    four finger swipe upwards and select which desktop, surely that's easier than f8 or whatever it was and then finding a space no?
     
  6. macrumors 6502a

    mrblack927

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2008
    #6
    Not for me. I used cmd+arrows to navigate around my spaces. So for example if I have a 2x2 square of 4 spaces, and I'm currently in space 1 (top left), I just press:

    cmd+right to move to space 2
    cmd+down to move to space 3
    cmd+left to move to space 4

    That's it, no matter where I am, I only need to press 1 button to move to the space I want. I never have to click anything and I never even have to "zoom out" to see the spaces. I know where everything is because I put them there for a reason and they don't move. For the record, I wouldn't mind using swipe instead of arrows as long as everything else stayed the same. My problem is putting everything in a line is painfully inefficient compared to a 2 dimensional layout.
     
  7. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2011
    Location:
    Idaho
    #7
    it is a little frustrating to get used to if you used Spaces as they were designed to be used originally. However, though this is not the same, try control+ left/right and changes the horizontal line still. control+up/down accesses mission control. While this is not the same as spaces used to be, sometimes its faster than remember a gesture or moving my entire hand.
     
  8. macrumors 6502a

    Thunderbird

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2005
    #8
    So does Lion not retain the grid layout? Even as an option?

    In the attached photo by the OP, can you work in the large space as it is, or is that a 'zoom out' view that needs to be 'zoomed back in' before one can start working in it?
     
  9. macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2008
    #9
    Same here. I don't have a multi-touch Mac yet, but I look forward to the swipe-to-move between Spaces. I really wish I'd be able to swipe up and down to navigate like I did with the arrows, though. Three swipes to get from Space 1 to Space 4 vs. one swipe if they were still in a grid. :(

    And if you had lot's of spaces? Eight swipes to get from the first space to the ninth space, for example?

    I look forward to swiping when I get a multi-touch Mac, I just wish there were still a 2D layout. And I do look forward to the unique wallpaper for each.
     
  10. macrumors 6502a

    mrblack927

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2008
    #10
    It get's worse. If you open fullscreen apps they create their own spaces too. So for example if you have 3 fullscreen apps open it might take you 7 swipes to get from Space 1 to Space 4 instead of 1. :(
     
  11. macrumors 68030

    baryon

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2009
    #11
    Yeah I am very afraid of this Mission Control thing. I don't see the point in linear spaces, and I love using Alt + Arrows to navigate. I have 6 spaces, 1 for Photoshop, 1 for Pages, 1 for Instant Messaging, 1 for email, 1 for iTunes and App Store, and one for Safari and all that stuff. I don't ever have to minimize or close windows or even use Exposé much, as I can simply use the arrow keys to navigate between Apps. It's quick and easy as I know what is in which Space. For example, now I'm in my Safari Space, if I want to get to Skype, I just press Alt + Up as I know that it's right above.

    I REALLY hope Apple does something, at least an option, to preserve this grid layout. I really love Spaces and I have never had a Mac before Leopard so for me it has become an integral part of the Mac experience for the past 3 years. I can't live without it, this is the one thing I definitely need. I can live without multi-touch, I can live without iPhoto, but not Spaces as I know it.

    Also, as I've heard, in Lion, Spaces rearrange themselves automatically? What the hell? How will I know where a certain App is if it's random and changes all the time? I experimented ages to find the ideal way of organizing my Spaces, and now I should let an AI figure it out for me? What if I want a certain Space to be always accessible with the press of one button (and not the number keys!), even if it's not the Space I use the most often, as judged by the AI?

    I want to be in control of my computer experience, and not let some algorithm decide for me. I actually enjoy organizing stuff the way I like.
     
  12. macrumors 6502

    aeaglex07

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2007
    Location:
    United States
    #12
    I like that wallpaper in the screenshot where did you get it:D
     
  13. dyn
    macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2009
    Location:
    .nl
    #13
    If you think about it they already have decided this. You've got spaces which can either be desktops or fullscreen apps. Look at the screenshot and you'll see that's exactly how they display it.
     
  14. macrumors newbie

    ajaxodessa

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2011
    Location:
    Odessa, UA
    #14
    I'd like to see palm of that mutant who insists that it's comfortable to "swipe around" using Magic Mouse while holding it :D It's great on laptops or TackPad but definitely NOT with Magic Mouse :rolleyes:
     
  15. macrumors 6502

    antmarobel

    Joined:
    May 8, 2009
    Location:
    Brasília
    #15
    quite simple: just google it: Lion, and "images"...be sure you chose the option "large". Wow! There's a lot of beautiful images there :D
     
  16. macrumors 68030

    kbmb

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2007
    Location:
    NH
    #16
    Couple of questions for those with Lion regarding Spaces.

    I currently have 8 spaces setup (2x4). I'm on a Mac Pro with the Magic Mouse, so no advanced trackpad gestures here.

    I currently have all four hot corners setup:

    Upper Left: Application Windows
    Upper Right: All Windows
    Lower Left: Spaces
    Lower Right: Desktop

    1) In Lion, since they took the "spaces" grid view away and replaced it with Mission Control.....can I assign Mission Control to a hot corner? So basically it would replace the Lower Left "Spaces" hot corner I have now?

    2) In regards to Spaces.....when Mission Control is launched, you see all your spaces and full screen apps across the top. The are below that, will show all your app windows within your current space? So this is like the "All Windows" expose now?

    3) When launching Mission Control.....is there a way to only show the current Application Windows, like Expose does today?

    4) Finally.....can someone setup 8 spaces and show how it looks in Mission Control displaying the dashboard + 8 spaces + a few full screen apps? How does Apple handle that many little windows?

    Thanks!

    -Kevin
     
  17. Hellhammer, Mar 3, 2011
    Last edited: Mar 3, 2011

    Moderator emeritus

    Hellhammer

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Finland
    #17
    It's two-finger swipes with Magic Mouse. I don't find it uncomfortable at all.


    Yes, just tried it.

    That is correct.

    At least there are hot corner and KB shortcut options for that.

    [​IMG]

    You can change the background of each Space if you want to.
     
  18. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2010
    #18
    Having a separate Space for Fullscreen applications makes it a bit tricky and certainly takes time to get used to. Yes, the grid is gone but you can still use Ctrl + <Space Number>, so even if you have 8 you don't have to scroll through all of them if you are using Space 1, you just press Ctrl + 8.
     
  19. macrumors 6502

    Steve Ballmer

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2009
    Location:
    Redmond, WA
    #19
    But in System Preferences, apps can be on "every space," when everything else is called a desktop now. Shouldn't it say "every desktop?"
     
  20. macrumors 68030

    kbmb

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2007
    Location:
    NH
    #20
    Hellhammer.....awesome! Thanks for answering and posting the screenshot.

    -Kevin
     
  21. celticpride678

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2009
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    #21
    Or give us the ability to name different spaces.

    Likely a bug. I don't think Apple meant for that to happen.
     
  22. macrumors newbie

    fejker

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2011
    Location:
    Slovenia
    #22
    Actually your keypress would just change from CMD+right/left to ctrl+right/left or if you prefer it ctrl+1/2/3/4/5... for an instant jump to a desktop of that number in Lion.

    I prefer the new combined spaces and expose because now I use spaces because it's easier to navigate (at least for me) and with the full screen option for mail and safari it makes even more sense.
     
  23. macrumors 65832

    kalsta

    Joined:
    May 17, 2010
    Location:
    Australia
    #23
    A separate space for each app? What on earth for? Are you familiar with Mac OS X's Hide/Show commands? These have been around for years (even before OS X, and long before Spaces), and would seem to meet your needs if all you want to do is avoid the clutter of having multiple apps visible at the same time. There are plenty of shortcuts for these commands. Command-Option-H hides all other apps. Holding down Option when you switch apps in the Dock hides the one you were just in. Holding Command and Option when you switch automatically hides all other apps. There may be others, but these are the ones I use on a daily basis to avoid screen clutter.

    In my experience, observing how other people use the Mac, the ability to hide apps is the least understood and most under-utilised feature of the GUI. It's so painful to watch users drag windows around so they can see what's underneath, or manually minimise half-a-dozen windows into the Dock, just like they used to do in Windows. (Windows really has trained people how to be super-inneficient!)

    That's why I'm positive about the changes in Lion. I don't have a preview copy to play with, but I'm hoping it will bring a much more visible way of hiding things for users, without having to manually configure different spaces.
     
  24. macrumors 68030

    kbmb

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2007
    Location:
    NH
    #24
    I work on my Mac and use 8 total spaces and love it. Changed the way I worked. So easy to assign apps to a single space and never have to worry about cluttering windows.

    To each his own.....if you like constantly minimizing/hiding windows then that's cool for you. Me, I assign apps to their particular spaces once....and never worry again. Cmd+Tab to the app and I'm taking to the space. Not really that much different than hiding windows. They are essentially "hidden" from your current view....just sitting over in another space.

    Glad to see Apple keeping Spaces (or Desktops) in Lion. I think just by the fact that they now allow a separate desktop picture for each space means they've done enough re-coding in spaces to make sure it sticks around for a while.

    -Kevin
     
  25. macrumors 65832

    kalsta

    Joined:
    May 17, 2010
    Location:
    Australia
    #25
    Just to clarify… I don't like minimizing windows, and that's the whole point. I like hiding/showing whole applications. Perhaps you got what I was saying and just used the wrong words. Just wanted to clarify.

    Yes, I know what Spaces does and I've tried to like it. I've started using it a few times but always found it too restrictive. There are plenty of times I want to have different app windows side by side, or whatever. I can't remember all the situations that lead to frustration in Spaces, but I kept coming back to good ol' Hide/Show. Like you say though, to each his own. :)

    I'm glad too. I'm hoping it'll be the best of both worlds.
     

Share This Page