Speaker Issue w/ New Intel iMac

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by berkleeboy210, Jan 28, 2006.

  1. berkleeboy210 macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2004
    Location:
    Boston, Massachusetts
    #1
    Hi Gang,

    I have a set of JBL Creature II Speakers that I've been wanting to hook up to my new iMac. I plug them into the headphone port, but I get no sound. All of the connections are in place and plugged into the right slots, and the balance level is equal on the Mac, and the volume level is turned all the way up.

    I unplugged the speakers, and plugged in some headphones and those worked fine. But I just can't seem to get any sound out of these nice speakers.

    Any help would be greatly appreciated.
     
  2. Pistol Pete macrumors 6502a

    Pistol Pete

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2005
    Location:
    So Cal
    #2
    i have seen this before...

    plug it in tight, i think the issure is that the creatures plug is an odd shape...
     
  3. berkleeboy210 thread starter macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2004
    Location:
    Boston, Massachusetts
    #3
    I'll try that tomorrow. Thanks for the suggestion.

    If anybody else has had any experience w/ this type of issue, please post.

    Thanks again.
     
  4. nospleen macrumors 68000

    nospleen

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2002
    Location:
    Texas
    #4
    I agree with the post above, I had the same problem when I purchased my creatures.
     
  5. semaja2 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2005
    Location:
    Adelaide
    #5
    i got this when i brought mine. look VERY VERY carefully at your cable ends for the 2 lil speakers, they need to be put in the correct ports and every cable has a special shape on the end which are difficult to plug in
     
  6. berkleeboy210 thread starter macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2004
    Location:
    Boston, Massachusetts
    #6
    Okay Guys. I tried everything ya'll suggested and still no luck. I also have a pair of M-Audio Studio Pro Speakers, and plugged those in, and get no sound out of those either.

    But the Internal Speakers on the iMac work fine though.

    Any Ideas?
     
  7. nospleen macrumors 68000

    nospleen

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2002
    Location:
    Texas
    #7

    I am assuming you hit the power button on the sub? Also, hit the plus button on the right speaker to ensure the volume is up.
     
  8. berkleeboy210 thread starter macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2004
    Location:
    Boston, Massachusetts
    #8
    Done both of those and still no luck. This is really strange.
     
  9. nospleen macrumors 68000

    nospleen

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2002
    Location:
    Texas
    #9
    Are there lights on under the speakers?
     
  10. berkleeboy210 thread starter macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2004
    Location:
    Boston, Massachusetts
    #10
    yup there were when I had them plugged in, I have my M-Audio's Plugged in now, and aren't getting any sound from those too.
     
  11. Peace macrumors P6

    Peace

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2005
    Location:
    Space--The ONLY Frontier
    #11

    you sure you have the speakers plugged into the correct port?
     
  12. nospleen macrumors 68000

    nospleen

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2002
    Location:
    Texas
    #12
    Well this is not good. Have you tried the usual, zapping pram, etc...?
     
  13. berkleeboy210 thread starter macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2004
    Location:
    Boston, Massachusetts
    #13
    How do I do that on the iMac?
     
  14. nospleen macrumors 68000

    nospleen

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2002
    Location:
    Texas
    #14
    Hmm, I wonder if it is the same on the macintels. If so, here you go...

    How to Zap PRAM

    Zapping PRAM is simple, just reboot your Mac and hold down "Command(the Apple key)+Option(the Alt key)+P+R" while it is booting, when you hear the startup sound for the seond time the operation is complete, and you can release the key combination. Now just let your Mac boot as normal.


    (from edesignuk's zap pram and run fsck thread)
     
  15. berkleeboy210 thread starter macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2004
    Location:
    Boston, Massachusetts
    #15
    Thanks man, I'll try that in a while and let you know the results.

    Thanks for sticking with this thread all day! I appreciate it
     
  16. nospleen macrumors 68000

    nospleen

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2002
    Location:
    Texas
    #16
    No problem at all!! I doubt it will work, but worth a shot.
     
  17. berkleeboy210 thread starter macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2004
    Location:
    Boston, Massachusetts
    #17
    yea it didn't work. this is really puzzling... I've never experienced anything like this before.
     
  18. nospleen macrumors 68000

    nospleen

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2002
    Location:
    Texas
  19. berkleeboy210 thread starter macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2004
    Location:
    Boston, Massachusetts
    #19
    yup headphones work fine. But every set of computer speakers that i have in the house won't.
     
  20. Peace macrumors P6

    Peace

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2005
    Location:
    Space--The ONLY Frontier
    #20
    Are the speakers digital or analog?
     
  21. jbernie macrumors 6502a

    jbernie

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2005
    Location:
    Denver, CO
    #21
    so i will ask the stupid obvious question :). These speakers are known to actually work right? like plug them into an ipod or discman and you get sound, plug into the imac and nothing?

    A possible lose connection for whatever makes the audio work in the imac?

    Very slowly insert the speakers plug in and see if at any point you do get audio, obviously have a cd playing and the speakers on, maybe you can find a point where the audio does work but it isnt when the speakers are plugged in fully? i.e. just in mono

    edit: do you have anything like a dual plug adapter for headphones? Also do the bands on the headphones plug line up exactly with the bands on the speaker plugs? Are the plugs all the same size? Maybe if the headphone plug is marginally shorter it can make the connection?
     
  22. getbigg21 Guest

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2005
    #22
    have you tried going into your system preferences under sound and checking your settings? there may be something you have to click on to make them work. just a thought.
     
  23. berkleeboy210 thread starter macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2004
    Location:
    Boston, Massachusetts
    #23
    All of the settings in the system pref. are fine. That was the first thing I checked.
     
  24. berkleeboy210 thread starter macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2004
    Location:
    Boston, Massachusetts
    #24
    I've used all of these speakers before w/ Previous computers, and they have worked fine. This is the first time, anything like this has happened.
     

Share This Page