"Special" Christmas Present (Audio Out Failed)

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by Mr. Anderson, Dec 25, 2005.

  1. Mr. Anderson Moderator emeritus

    Mr. Anderson

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2001
    Location:
    VA
    #1
    So I go to do a little work on my machine this morning and the audio out isn't working - on the plug in the back and the audio jack in the front -

    Machine: dual 1.25 GHz G4

    I've run techtool deluxe on the thing - but that's not going to help much. Is there a hardware diagnostic tool out there that checks the sound card?

    I'm not overly concerned since I'm getting a new machine soon and this is just one of a few things that have been *problems*. But it is the one that causes the most annoyance right now since I'm doing some video editing and that will be an issue.

    D
     
  2. homerjward macrumors 68030

    homerjward

    Joined:
    May 11, 2004
    Location:
    fig tree
    #2
    that really sucks, and i imagine the internal one isn't much of a speaker :(
    i don't suppose there are any computer shops around you that sell mac-compatible sound cards on xmas either.
     
  3. OutThere macrumors 603

    OutThere

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2002
    Location:
    NYC
    #3
  4. varmit macrumors 68000

    varmit

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2003
    #4
    Are you sure the audio just didn't just get put to mute. Check under System preferences, make sure its not muted, there has been cases of the audio moving to one speaker or the other randomly, this might just be it turning off. Have you tried rebooting, maybe the OS lost were sound was suppose to go, but a reboot might get it going again.
     
  5. Mr. Anderson thread starter Moderator emeritus

    Mr. Anderson

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2001
    Location:
    VA
    #5

    Yeah, I checked that - went to the audio control panel - no left right speaker issues, i used the keyboard controls to adjust volume and nothing, plugged in headphones on both outputs to make sure the speakers weren't the issue, nothing.

    Oh, and the startup chime only came on once in a while on reboot - now it won't at all.

    Bleh - I'd not want to go buy anything else for this machine - I'll just move FCP over to my wifes 2.0 GHz iMac which is just as fast or faster than this machine.

    In a couple weeks with the new Quad G5 it won't matter.

    D
     
  6. Mr. Anderson thread starter Moderator emeritus

    Mr. Anderson

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2001
    Location:
    VA
    #6
    Rebooted for the 3rd time and now the thing works...

    Bleh

    I don't get it, something is definitely messed up - but thanks for the help.

    D
     
  7. OutThere macrumors 603

    OutThere

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2002
    Location:
    NYC
    #7
    I really love it when computers like to tempt you like that...it's pretending it works so that your blood pressure will go down slightly, until it can break again and watch you squirm....:D
     
  8. Mr. Anderson thread starter Moderator emeritus

    Mr. Anderson

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2001
    Location:
    VA
    #8

    Well, given its flaky nature, a good whack with a hammer might just do the trick next time and relieve some of that built up stress.

    As long as it last for another couple weeks (knock on wood) I'll be fine.

    D
     

Share This Page