Speed Up Firefox

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by scem0, Jan 2, 2005.

  1. scem0 macrumors 604

    scem0

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2002
    Location:
    back in NYC!
    #1
    Here is a good little trick to speed up firefox (a lot on my two computers). It only benifits broadband users, unfortunately.

    Linka-dink-dink

    scem0
     
  2. Mertzen macrumors 6502

    Mertzen

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2004
    Location:
    ]KLGA[
    #2
    I did that after reading it on OSXhints .. and it does indeed speed things up ..
     
  3. edesignuk Moderator emeritus

    edesignuk

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2002
    Location:
    London, England
    #3
    Nice, thanks! This with my G5 optimized build pwns Safari :eek: :p
     
  4. PickledSquirrel macrumors regular

    PickledSquirrel

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2003
    Location:
    Aarhus, DK
    #4
    weeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee :D nice little trick, now how do I do that to acquisition and photoshop??????? :p

    -squirrel
     
  5. sjpetry macrumors 65816

    sjpetry

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2004
    Location:
    Tamarindo, Costa Rica
    #5
    Is it ok if you set at more than 30 requests?
     
  6. mkrishnan Moderator emeritus

    mkrishnan

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    Location:
    Grand Rapids, MI, USA
    #6
    Thank you so much! :D This is so awesome with tabbed browsing. It's even better than getting a tattoo that says "Sweet" and having your friend get a tattoo that says "Dude." ;)

    And make sure y'all at least tried the other Firefox speedups, like disable IPV6. I've never really had problems with that. Has anyone else?
     
  7. Hoef macrumors 6502a

    Hoef

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2004
    Location:
    Houston, TX..... (keep walking)
    #7
    I think it did speed up firefox although it could be psycho. Interested in how this multiple request work 4 vs 30, or even more, any ideas out there?
     
  8. mkrishnan Moderator emeritus

    mkrishnan

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    Location:
    Grand Rapids, MI, USA
    #8
    Do I understand correctly, that these connections refer to how many page elements outside of the main HTML/CSS/etc file are loaded at a time -- so each element is a JPG or GIF, or...? Are there any issues with flooding the router or the cablemodem?
     
  9. scem0 thread starter macrumors 604

    scem0

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2002
    Location:
    back in NYC!
    #9
    I've heard that servers could/might ban you if you set it 30+ so I keep it at 8 to be safe.

    scem0
     
  10. edesignuk Moderator emeritus

    edesignuk

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2002
    Location:
    London, England
    #10
    Thanks for that word of warning. I don't wanna be getting blocked from anywhere!
     
  11. scem0 thread starter macrumors 604

    scem0

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2002
    Location:
    back in NYC!
    #11
    I've had it on 8 for a day or two and haven't been blocked anywhere (crosses fingers ;)).

    Then again, since getting WoW I haven't been browsing so much (or doing anything so much. That game is ultra-addicting. :cool:).

    scem0
     
  12. sorryiwasdreami macrumors 6502a

    sorryiwasdreami

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2004
    Location:
    way out in the sticks
    #12
    Nice tip! I set it to 28; we'll see what happens! haha
     
  13. Mertzen macrumors 6502

    Mertzen

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2004
    Location:
    ]KLGA[
  14. nichos macrumors 6502

    nichos

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2004
    Location:
    Jacksonville, Fl
    #14
    Possible Problems

    While this is a great tip, it should be noted there are costs to enable this. There was a reason the developers didn't enable all this stuff by default. However, it's been working thus far for me. ;) See link for side-effects:
    weblogs.mozillazine.org
     
  15. Hoef macrumors 6502a

    Hoef

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2004
    Location:
    Houston, TX..... (keep walking)
    #15
    Thanks for bringing up this side of the story
     

Share This Page