Speedtest app freaking out

Discussion in 'iPhone and iPod touch Apps' started by SilentLoner, Jan 2, 2013.

  1. macrumors 65816

    SilentLoner

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2007
    #1
    Does anyone else have the problem of when you are on wifi with your broadband. I'm on comcasts extreme 105 that the speed test app freaks out and bounces around like a crazy person and settles on crazy speeds like 2.5 meg?
     
  2. macrumors 68030

    dictoresno

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2012
    Location:
    NJ
    #2
    it did this when i had at&t and tested the cell network, it bounced all over then showed horrible speeds. verizons LTE is a smooth climb then it plateaus perfectly. my home wifi is the same. the needle pins out and stays there.
     
  3. macrumors P6

    Weaselboy

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    #3
    Yes. I have 30/5 and the Speedtest app on my home wi-fi is pretty much worthless. It just jumps around. It seems to fall over at higher speeds.
     
  4. thread starter macrumors 65816

    SilentLoner

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2007
    #4
    Was you on Comcast? What router do you have?
     
  5. macrumors P6

    Weaselboy

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    #5
    Time Warner Cable with a Time Capsule router.
     
  6. thread starter macrumors 65816

    SilentLoner

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2007
    #6
    It's so frustrating because I'm having disputes with Comcast over my speed haha
     
  7. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2012
    #7
    I have a Time Capsule
     
  8. thread starter macrumors 65816

    SilentLoner

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2007
    #8
    Are they any good?
     
  9. macrumors P6

    Weaselboy

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    #9
    I have one and really like it. Nice having backups automated and not having to worry about it. Here is a good review of the current version.
     

Share This Page