Spotlight broken- how to debug?

Discussion in 'macOS' started by DreadPiratePete, Sep 1, 2005.

1. DreadPiratePete macrumors newbie

Hi all! This is my first post, so go easy on me.

About a month ago I installed Tiger on my 15" Powerbook. Its amazing. I love it. However, a few days ago, Spotlight stopped working. I type into the search bar and nothing happens. Zero. Nada. Zip. This had worked great for about a month.

I'm wondering if anyone knows any debugging tips. I'm a fairly competent software engineer, and am very familiar with Unix, so does anyone have any starting points? Looked in the console, shows nothing of interest.

Thanks!

2. yellow Moderator emeritus

yellow

Last reboot? There should be a process called "mds" running. This is responsible for all Spotlight searches. If the process isn't running, that would explain why Spotlight isn't working.

3. Mitthrawnuruodo Moderator emeritus

Mitthrawnuruodo

Welcome to the forums! :)

I would first try to re-index Spotlight.

If that doesn't work, you can go on to the regular tips (;)):
    - Deleting the Spotlight preference file ~/Library/preferences/com.apple.spotlight.plist. Corrupt preference files are often culprits when an application stops working).
    - Repairing permissions (Can be done by running sudo diskutil repairPermissions / from Terminal, or by using Disk Utility, or a third party application like MainMenu. Faulty permissions also have been known to cause problems.
    - Check if Spotlight is working on another user account on your Mac. Make another account if needed. If it works there we've narrowed it down to something in your account.

Happy hunting! :)

4. DreadPiratePete thread starter macrumors newbie

Thanks...