Spotlight Icon

Discussion in 'macOS' started by dav, May 21, 2005.

  1. dav macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2004
    #1
    Is it possible to remove the spotlight icon and retain the functionality?

    Thanks

    -dav
     
  2. wrldwzrd89 macrumors G5

    wrldwzrd89

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2003
    Location:
    Solon, OH
    #2
    Spotlight can be accessed several different ways from the Finder:

    1. Click the Spotlight icon
    2. Type in the search box in any Finder window
    3. Go to File->Find in the menu bar (or hit Apple+F)

    Removing the Spotlight icon would disable method 1, but methods 2 and 3 should still work.

    I was poking around in the System Folder, looking for something that might represent the Spotlight menu icon, but could not find anything.

    Just out of curiosity, why would you want to get rid of the Spotlight menu icon?
     
  3. dav thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2004
    #3
    Well, I mean lose the icon off of my menubar, but still be able to command-space and option-command-space
     
  4. mkrishnan Moderator emeritus

    mkrishnan

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    Location:
    Grand Rapids, MI, USA
    #4
    If you go to this thread, then the last step (#5 I think?) of the OP's directions should get rid of the icon. No idea what it would do to your ability to use command-option-space, but I would be shocked if command-space still works, since iit would open that menu, which would no longer be there....
     
  5. puckhead193 macrumors G3

    puckhead193

    Joined:
    May 25, 2004
    Location:
    NY
  6. wrldwzrd89 macrumors G5

    wrldwzrd89

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2003
    Location:
    Solon, OH
    #6
    It isn't a menu extra, so it can't easily be moved next to other menu extras (like the Bluetooth icon) or deleted.
     
  7. dav thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2004
    #7
    I am unable to command-move it :confused:
     
  8. wrldwzrd89 macrumors G5

    wrldwzrd89

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2003
    Location:
    Solon, OH
    #8
    My point exactly. It can't be moved that way.
     
  9. dav thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2004
    #9
    Hah, I misread your post.. I thought you were telling me it WAS a menu extra!

    Sorry
     
  10. mkrishnan Moderator emeritus

    mkrishnan

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    Location:
    Grand Rapids, MI, USA
    #10
    Did you try removing the bundle in the linked thread in my reply above? Did it work? Now I'm kind of curious. :)
     

Share This Page