Spotlight not working on Desktop

Discussion in 'macOS' started by nsheikh80, Mar 5, 2006.

  1. nsheikh80 macrumors regular

    nsheikh80

    Joined:
    May 2, 2005
    Location:
    London, England
    #1
    When I click or invoke Spotlight via Cmd-space the spotlight icon in the menubar is highlighted but i do not get the prompt to enter anything in. Spotlight works fine within Finder etc.

    Anyone have any ideas?
     
  2. mad jew Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #2
    In the System preferences, make sure COMMAND-SPACE is still selected in the Spotlight section and maybe check that there aren't any contradictory shortcuts in the Keyboard Shortcuts section of Keyboard & Mouse. :)
     
  3. nsheikh80 thread starter macrumors regular

    nsheikh80

    Joined:
    May 2, 2005
    Location:
    London, England
    #3

    All checked but no luck. I hope I don't have to format my machine just because of the above :(
     
  4. Unorthodox macrumors 65816

    Unorthodox

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2006
    Location:
    Not at the beach...
    #4
    So the little spotlight icon turns blue, but no text field drops down when you hit "apple space". What happens if you click the spotlight icon?
     
  5. nsheikh80 thread starter macrumors regular

    nsheikh80

    Joined:
    May 2, 2005
    Location:
    London, England
    #5
    Exactly the same thing. Whether I click it or cmd-space it it just remains blue.
     
  6. Unorthodox macrumors 65816

    Unorthodox

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2006
    Location:
    Not at the beach...
    #6
    Maybe it's indexing? Did you recently add any external hard drives? Or just a bunch of files?
     
  7. nsheikh80 thread starter macrumors regular

    nsheikh80

    Joined:
    May 2, 2005
    Location:
    London, England
    #7
    Definitely not idnexing as it works fine in Finder. It has been like this for 2 days now. No ne HD's added over the last year.
     
  8. mad jew Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #8
    Maybe move the PLIST file named com.apple.spotlight.plist to the Desktop and restart. :)
     
  9. nsheikh80 thread starter macrumors regular

    nsheikh80

    Joined:
    May 2, 2005
    Location:
    London, England
    #9
    Unfortunately this did not work either.
     
  10. whooleytoo macrumors 603

    whooleytoo

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2002
    Location:
    Cork, Ireland.
    #10
    Incidentally, it's not always Command-Space, sometimes it's Control-Space. (I believe this is due to a 'conflict' with the Input Menu over the Command-Space shortcut).
     

Share This Page