Spring Cleaning!

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by Robur Limax, Dec 1, 2006.

1. Robur Limax macrumors newbie

Hi all!

This is my first time posting here. I had this site in my bookmarks for so long and just came across it the other day. Seems like a fine, friendly community.

Lets get to business though. My computer is pretty old. I just freed up about 25GB of room on my hard drive. What additional steps can I take to help my computer run smoother and not be so gunky in general?

I really want to defrag but I can't find any free applications I trust. Are there any other applications I can use to help my computer run smoother?

Thanks beforehand!

--J

2. R.Youden macrumors 68020

R.Youden

A good tip is always to repair disk permissions. I dont know if it makes your machine run faster but it may get rid of any unecessary crashes etc.

You dont really have to run a disk defrag on a mac, Windows only really.

3. Robur Limax thread starter macrumors newbie

Which application does this?

EDIT: Ah, found it. Thanks man!

4. R.Youden macrumors 68020

R.Youden

Go into the following:

Applications->Utilities->Disk Utilities, you will see a window like this and click repair permissions (make sure you select the boot drive from the left hand column):

Attached Files:

5. Romulus macrumors regular

Good luck with this project.

Simplest thing to do which would take about 2 hours of your time is to reformat the hard drive and reinstall a clean copy of the OS.

Otherway, now, download onyX as one of the best rated maintenance programs for OS X and you can run in automator all the scripts, repair permissions, clean the cashes, reset other settings.