iPhone springboard strings..

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by fisherking, Feb 5, 2013.

  1. macrumors 68030

    fisherking

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010
    Location:
    brooklyn
    #1
    anyone know where this is now? i used to be in system>coreservices>springboard...but not anymore?

    would like to change a string or two...
     
  2. fisherking, Feb 5, 2013
    Last edited: Feb 5, 2013

    thread starter macrumors 68030

    fisherking

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010
    Location:
    brooklyn
    #2
    duh! answering my own question:

    system>coreservices>springboard.app>english.lproj
     
  3. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2012
    #3
    Have your changes had any effect? I have tried changing the strings by putting a new strings file in a Winterboard theme, but for some reason it has no effect. Respringing, wiping cache and changing language to and fro don't help.
     
  4. fisherking, Feb 8, 2013
    Last edited: Feb 8, 2013

    thread starter macrumors 68030

    fisherking

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010
    Location:
    brooklyn
    #4
    works fine here (but i've changed the file in the actual System folder).

    it's probably location: you need it in a certain folder (possibly Bundles>com.apple.springboard)...but that's a random guess.

    also, you may need to move your strings theme up in winterboard.

    anyone know the correct location for a SpringBoard.strings file for winterboard?
     
  5. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2012
    #5
    I've been googling and asking around a bit, and it seems that other people having this problem did what you suggested, i.e. editing the actual system files as opposed to using Winterboard. So that's what I've done too, now! Still bugs me that I can't figure out how to make Winterboard do it, but ah well!
     
  6. thread starter macrumors 68030

    fisherking

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010
    Location:
    brooklyn
    #6
    keep a backup of the original, just in case... (just a thought...).
    i always do that if i mess with actual system files.
     

Share This Page