Spyware in Limewire

Discussion in 'Mac OS X 10.3 (Panther) Discussion' started by blvdeast, Feb 9, 2004.

  1. blvdeast macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2003
    Location:
    Cliffside Park, NJ
    #1
    I was told that OS X10.3 couldn't get spyware. I just found out that in the window's version, at least, Limewire installs spyware. What about macs? Do we also get the spyware?
     
  2. SilentPanda Moderator emeritus

    SilentPanda

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2002
    Location:
    The Bamboo Forest
    #2
    Not yet. And hopefully not ever (knock on wood).
     
  3. Crikey macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2004
    Location:
    Spencer's Butte, Oregon
    #3
    That's a pretty interesting question. LimeWire is a cross-platform Java-based application for sending and receiving data across the network, so why wouldn't they be able to make the spyware component cross-platform Java too?

    I enjoyed using LimeWire back in the day, and if I were still doing P2P I'd probably pay them the $10 or whatever to get the spyware-free version.

    Cheers,


    Crikey
     
  4. Nermal Moderator

    Nermal

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Location:
    New Zealand
    #4
    Because the spyware is made by a third party, and isn't written in Java.
     
  5. rainman::|:| macrumors 603

    rainman::|:|

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2002
    Location:
    iowa
    #5
    Quite right. The spyware isn't really integrated, but some apps will double-check that the spyware is running, so if you remove it, you disable the original program. i'm of course talking about kazaa.

    fortunately i do not believe spyware authors will find it worthwhile to code for Mac for a while... OS X would prove very tricky in some ways, and they just don't stand to make enough money to justify learning how. it's good to be underrated.

    paul
     
  6. edesignuk Moderator emeritus

    edesignuk

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2002
    Location:
    London, England
    #6
    ...can't believe there are people still using Limewire...there are so much better programs/methods of getting what you want these days...:eek:...Limewire is such a POS :p
     
  7. TimDaddy macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2002
    Location:
    Versailles, KY (and that's pronounced Vurr-sales)
    #7
    I've been wondering about this myself. Last year while in CompUSA, I was chatting with the Apple rep. I mentioned something about Limewire, and he said "You'd better be careful with Limewire, it's loaded with spyware!".
     
  8. Mav451 macrumors 68000

    Mav451

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2003
    Location:
    Maryland
    #8
    Hah, pretty much any "popular" program out there in the Windows world could contain spyware--and that is the #1 reason not to go to CNet.com to d/l the "latest and greatest" utility to "speed up Windows XP".

    I suppose if everyone followed my Firebird (or should i say Firefox) and Spybot:S&D diet we woulnd't have secretaries/workers screwing up the networks at offices across the world.
     
  9. Nik_Doof macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2003
    Location:
    St Helens, UK
    #9
    Heh, and alot of IT people would loose there jobs :)
     
  10. onealc macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2004
    #10
    edesignuk - what IS the best alternative to Limewire?
     
  11. robotrenegade macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2002
    Location:
    Greenville,SC
    #13
    Do what dontmakemehurtu, mainstreetmark say. Both of those apps are better anyhow.
     
  12. lazyboy922 macrumors 6502

    lazyboy922

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2003
    Location:
    Las Vegas, NV
  13. Mav451 macrumors 68000

    Mav451

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2003
    Location:
    Maryland
    #15
    Lazyboy922: You can start by installing Spybot: S&D; you can find it here:

    http://www.safer-networking.org/index.php?page=download

    After you install it, make sure you update the detection to Feb 2, 2004 (the most recent). To do this, first run the program (advanced mode).

    You will see the main screen--click on Search for updates. Sometimes the update might not start, so just select another mirror and retry. After the update is downloaded and installed, you can being scanning.

    Click the Search & Destroy button which looks like 2 windows with a magnifying glass.

    After the scanning is finished, click fix selected problems to remove the spyware.

    If you still use IE, i highly recommend you go to the Immunize tab. Make sure you get both the Permanent IE immunity and the bad download blocker installed.

    Then you are good to go :)
     
  14. lazyboy922 macrumors 6502

    lazyboy922

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2003
    Location:
    Las Vegas, NV
  15. DaveTheGrey macrumors 6502a

    DaveTheGrey

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2003
    #17
  16. CmdrLaForge macrumors 68040

    CmdrLaForge

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2003
    Location:
    around the world
    #18
    What are you talking about ?
     
  17. edesignuk Moderator emeritus

    edesignuk

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2002
    Location:
    London, England
    #19
    What do you mean what am I talking about? We all know Limewire is poop, and there are much better options out there, see www.mac-p2p.com :D
     
  18. CmdrLaForge macrumors 68040

    CmdrLaForge

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2003
    Location:
    around the world
    #20
    Thanks for the page. But isn't that somehow illegal ?
     
  19. macopia macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2002
    Location:
    Orlando, FL
    #21
    Good software...they're always updating.
     
  20. edesignuk Moderator emeritus

    edesignuk

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2002
    Location:
    London, England
    #22
    Of course not. Mac-p2p.com is another of arn's (MacRumros webmaster) sites.
     
  21. 7on macrumors 601

    7on

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2003
    Location:
    Dress Rosa
    #23
    I'm pretty sure Limewire is adware, but prolly not spyware. Spyware typically runs all the time recording stuff on your computer to be sent back to the HQ or something. Adware are the banner advertisements in the limewire app itself. If you have spyware on the Mac, I believe it'd be pointed out when you boot (the loading window showing stuff starting up) or definitely be present in you process window once logged in. Either was, I'm sure spyware would require a root password to install to be able to work properly.

    This is why I hate that in 10.3.2 that any app can change system level files with only a password. Before, if I'm correct, to change something in root owned folders one had to sudo in terminal, which IMO, is a lot securer.
     
  22. mms macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2003
    Location:
    CA
  23. MrMacMan macrumors 604

    MrMacMan

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2001
    Location:
    1 Block away from NYC.
    #25
    You see THIS product I know has spyware.

    Dave, the Devolper has added features so that even if you pay for the software he can remotely kill your subscription.

    He is also a total a--h--e generally.

    If you post about a problem sometimes he just deletes your thread giving you no warning what so ever...

    Limewire -- Bloated.
    Acquisition -- Dave for one thing...Spyware possibly.
    acqlite -- Based on Limewire Code, but Open Source. (acquisition but better
    here )
    Poisoned -- I've had only a glowing experience with Poisoned... very helpful, great application.
    mLMac -- Hasn't been mentioned in this thread so far...I like it, but it needs to be more stable.
    iTMS -- Well... It supports the RIAA. ;)
     

Share This Page