SSD Install 'Mount Point" different than it was...

Discussion in 'Mac OS X Lion (10.7)' started by mund, May 11, 2012.

  1. mund, May 11, 2012
    Last edited: May 12, 2012

    macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2012
    Location:
    Great Lake State
    #1
    I just replaced the 128GB SSD that was the primary drive in my early 2011 MBP 15 to a Samsung 830 512.

    * My restart and cold boots now take longer...

    * The "Mount Point:/Volumes/MBP SSD#1" when the 128 was installed now shows "Mount Point:/" with the 830, should this be blank?____

    I don't know if this was right, but Samsung provided the cable in my 830 Laptop Kit, SATA -USB. In their installation video they do a simple clone of the old HD to a new 830 this way. I installed Lion from a usb bootable sandisk 8gb micro sd while my 128 SSD still in the MBP and the new Samsung SSD plugged into the other usb, installed lion this way. Then transferred files from the 128 to the 512 this way as well... all seems to be working fine...

    Thanks In Advance for any help with my issues...
     
  2. thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2012
    Location:
    Great Lake State
    #2
    bump... Advice anybody?
     
  3. macrumors P6

    Weaselboy

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    #3
    I'm not clear where you are seeing this "Mount point"? Is it in an app from Samsung?

    Click on your desktop then do shift-command-g (all at once) then enter /Volumes What do you see there? You should see the main drive listed.

    I think your slow boot is because you have not selected a startup drive in settings and it is taking time to search for it. Go to System Preferences/Startup Disk and select the correct drive then restart. That should do it.
     
  4. mund, May 13, 2012
    Last edited: May 14, 2012

    thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2012
    Location:
    Great Lake State
    #4
    Sorry about that.. About this mac, System report, Serial-ATA then clicking on the SSD
     
  5. macrumors P6

    Weaselboy

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    #5
    That is okay. That / is just the root of the drive and where the mount point should be. Not quite sure why it looked different with your other drive.

    Did setting the startup disk like I mentioned fix the slow boot?
     
  6. thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2012
    Location:
    Great Lake State
    #6
    Interesting though... take a look how identified?
    [​IMG][/IMG]
    [​IMG]
     
  7. macrumors P6

    Weaselboy

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    #7
    That is not a problem. You must have named the SSD that when you formatted it. You can leave it or change it back to the default Macintosh HD by following this video. It does not really matter. You could name it anything you want.
     
  8. thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2012
    Location:
    Great Lake State
    #8
    I called it 'Samsung SSD 512'
    Please take a look at my install Lion and SSD data transfer via USB in my initial post, bottom sentence.. Is this why the Shift-command-g makes reference to it as a mobile backup .. or whatever..?

    Oh, when I checked it was already as startup disk.. did anyway, current restart time 40 seconds to login screen, cold boot 16 seconds
     
  9. macrumors P6

    Weaselboy

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    #9
    You are fine and that is normal. Here is a cap of mine with a 128GB SSD. That MobileBackups volume is used as temp storage by Time Machine when no external back drive is available.

    That boot time sounds about right.

    I think you are in good shape and if you want you can rename the drive, or just leave it... but you look good to go to me.

    [​IMG]
     
  10. thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2012
    Location:
    Great Lake State
    #10
    Thanks...

    Thanks for your help and assistance Weaselboy... appreciate it greatly!

    p.s. I noticed you covered a few things up, in your pic... am I revealing TMI ?
     
  11. macrumors P6

    Weaselboy

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    #11
    You are very welcome.

    I covered my user name just for privacy as it is my first initial and last name, but I don't see how anybody can stalk your nondescript user/machine names.
     
  12. thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2012
    Location:
    Great Lake State
    #12
    Thanks for the explanation... And I forgot to ask if you are using this TRIM Enabler with a Samsung 830?

    If so, all running smoothly?
     
  13. macrumors P6

    Weaselboy

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    #13
    I have a Samsung 470 SSD and I do not run the TRIM hack. Although there are many reports of users running it trouble free, it just worries me a little hacking a core system file like that.

    I have noticed no slowdown in write speeds. I figure if I ever do notice a slow down I can get back to like new performance by enabling the hack then boot into single user mode and type in the command "fsck -fy" (without the quotes), then reboot. This TRIMs all free space on the drive.

    All new SSDs have very effective built in garbage collection that seems to work well without TRIM. You will see varying opinions on this.
     

Share This Page