Star Craft Installation

Discussion in 'Games' started by Sundance Kid, Aug 10, 2005.

  1. Sundance Kid macrumors regular

    Sundance Kid

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2005
    Location:
    Canada
    #1
    So i just bought the win/mac version of Starcraft. So put in the cd, double click the icon, then the installer icon, and this comes up:

    'Couldn't open installer archive. You must run the installer on the Starcraft CD.'


    So i try again, same thing... So i read the manual, and it tell me to do exactly what i've done... What do i do to make it work?


    for machine specs, see sig. And i have Tiger and Classic 9



    thanks for your help guys
     
  2. joecool85 macrumors 65816

    joecool85

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2005
    Location:
    Maine
    #2
    I had to download a patch from blizzard.com for it to work. It isn't OS X compatible out of the box. btw, good to hear I'm not the only star craft player in here. Been playing it since it came out :cool:
     
  3. Jedi128 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2005
    Location:
    New York, NY
    #3
    Ya, out of the box it has to be installed on OS 9. You can get the patch from blizzard to install it natively under X. I would just get the patch if you plan on playing under X.
     
  4. iDM macrumors 6502a

    iDM

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2005
    Location:
    The Commonwealth of PA/The First State-DE
    #4
    Have you guys noticed that it flies on these new machines? Like can you run really high resolution options. I just bought the game and i was interested. Can i run it in 1280x854?
     
  5. Eric5h5 macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2004
    #5
    Starcraft is a 2D sprite game. It runs at 640x480 and nothing else.

    Have to wait for Starcraft 2 for a scalable graphics engine, like they did for Warcraft III. (Well, there better be a Starcraft 2, anyway....)

    --Eric
     
  6. HiRez macrumors 603

    HiRez

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2004
    Location:
    Western US
  7. yoda13 macrumors 65816

    yoda13

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2003
    Location:
    Texas
  8. ReanimationLP macrumors 68030

    ReanimationLP

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2005
    Location:
    On the moon.
    #8
    lol. I've been playing since it came out too. It is my favorite game, ever. So fun to crush teh newbs. :D

    I wish I could play it more, but I'm so busy nowadays. :(

    In fact, right now I'm listening to one of the Protoss music pieces.
     
  9. ~Shard~ macrumors P6

    ~Shard~

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2003
    Location:
    1123.6536.5321
    #9
    No, Starcraft will only run in 640x480.

    Yes, Starcraft is one of my favorite all-time games. Can't wait for SC2! If Blizzard makes a WoS I'm screwed.... ;)

    For anyone interested, here are a couple other SC threads I've heavily participated in:

    http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=127575
    http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=124558
    http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=107762
     

Share This Page