Windows StarCraft 1 Campaign Remade with StarCraft 2 Graphics

Discussion in 'Mac and PC Games' started by ReanimationN, Jan 25, 2013.

  1. macrumors 6502a

    ReanimationN

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2011
    Location:
    Australia
    #1
    Hey guys, just thought I'd give those of you who are StarCraft fans a heads up about this awesome fan effort. It's the StarCraft 1 (and Brood War, I'm pretty sure) campaign(s) remade in StarCraft 2. You need StarCraft 2 to play it, obviously, and I'm not sure if it'll work on OS X- all the instructions are written for PCs.

    Link.

    To use it, download the three files it tells you to (to start off) and the installation guide so you know where to put the files. Enjoy!

     
  2. macrumors regular

    Towelie1288

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2012
    Location:
    Texas
    #2
    sweeet :D wonder if it works with OSX but either way
    love starcraft 2 great game i wouldnt mind playing starcraft 1 campaign again :cool:
     
  3. macrumors demi-goddess

    costabunny

    Joined:
    May 15, 2008
    Location:
    ~/
    #3
    Now thats some serious fan dedication. Nice to see, but I think i will skip it myself (having enough problems fighting my way through the SC2 campaign as it is) lol

    [​IMG]
     
  4. thread starter macrumors 6502a

    ReanimationN

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2011
    Location:
    Australia
    #4
    It's seriously awesome. I've been playing through it tonight, it's been that long since I played SC1 that it almost feels like a whole new game. Give it a shot!
    I don't blame you if you're playing through the SC2 campaign- it's awesome, plus you have to get it finished before Heart of the Swarm is released. ;)
     
  5. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2008
    #5
    Queue Blizzard sending a C&D in...

    -SC
     
  6. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2012
    #6
    Playing through it now. Its fun and shows how much better the story and dialogue is in SC1. Its Mac compatible since it needs standard SC2 mod files so installation instructions are the same.

    The guys that made this put a lot of effort into it. You can use BW units too such as the medic but to balance it out the AI is harder I find/remember.
     
  7. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2010
    #7
    I just re-found this thread, as I was searching the archives for my own personal SC2 question.

    Curious if anyone got this going under OS X? Or is it a DOS/windows thing only?
     

Share This Page