Starcraft install problem

Discussion in 'Games' started by Oki, Jul 10, 2004.

1. Oki macrumors member

Oki

Just bought the Starcraft Battle Chest set of games, and I am having install problems. When I insert the disk, the disk image appears on the desktop, but nothing happens. When I double click on the disk it opens the Finder and shows the contents of the disk, and when I click on the program "Starcraft Installer" it starts up OS 9 and then gives me an error that says "Couldn't open installer archive. You must run the installer on the Starcraft CD." I am new to Macs, so I really don't know what to do. Help, plz!

15" Powerbook . 80 gig hdd . Radeon 9600 mobile 128 . 512 mb ram . OS X 10.3.4

2. Maxicek macrumors regular

There is an alternate installer on the Blizzard Website for running under OSX in Classic mode.

http://www.blizzard.com/support/?id=msc0411p#patch_information

I am playing on a PC at the moment, but my new PB should arrive monday so, i won't know the details of the Mac install until later in the week. But the blizzard website is quite good and hopefully will get you up and running. Good luck.

3. seamuskrat macrumors 6502a

seamuskrat

What is happening is that StarCraft and Diablo do not like Classic too much. Since your book won;t boot into classic, you need the new OS X installer, or find a friend with a machine with Firewire and OS 9 and install via Firwire target mode to your powerbook.

Althuogh not released yet, Blizzard DOES have a StarCraft OS X Installer. Email or call them for help on Monday.

4. Oki thread starter macrumors member

Oki

New problem