Starcraft

Discussion in 'Games' started by aaron.lee2006, Jul 16, 2006.

  1. aaron.lee2006 macrumors 65816

    aaron.lee2006

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2006
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    #1
    Does anyone know if Starcraft originally came with a version of Windows and OSX on the disc. I have a PC verision but would like to play it on my MacBook Pro. It isn't a problem to put it on BootCamp but it would be more convienient to play it under OSX.
     
  2. colinp macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2004
    #2
    The very first release of Starcraft was not dual system. It should say on the disc whether it supports Mac OS and Windows. But yeah, I ended up just buying the $20 pack so I could play it on my PPC.

    I am pretty sure it was the same with Diablo 2, but I could be wrong on that. I think Warcraft 3 was the first Blizzard game that was dual format at shipping time.
     
  3. Shotgun Pete macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2006
    Location:
    Saskatchewan, Canada
    #3
    Starcraft system requirements

    Windows 95/98/NT
    Pentium 90 or higher
    16 MB RAM
    DirectX-Compatible SVGA Video Card
    Microsoft-Compatible Mouse
    Double-Speed CD-ROM
    (Quad Speed for Cinematics)

    Macintosh
    PowerMac or Compatible
    16 MB RAM
    System 7.6 or higher
    256 Color, 640x480 Display or Better
    Double-Speed CD-ROM
    (Quad Speed for Cinematics)

    It like its WCIII bretheren works just fine on a mac
     
  4. Yvan256 macrumors 601

    Yvan256

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2004
    Location:
    Canada
    #4
    The problem is, Starcraft is so old, the Mac version is for Mac OS 9 or something...

    If you have the PC/Mac CDs, you can go to Blizzard's website to download the OS X installer/game.
     
  5. aaron.lee2006 thread starter macrumors 65816

    aaron.lee2006

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2006
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
  6. topgunn macrumors 65816

    topgunn

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2004
    Location:
    Texas
    #6
    As far as the CD's go, I was in the same situation as you. Blizzard offered to replace my CD's with hybrids for $15 S&H with 3 weeks wait. BestBuy has the Battle Chest for $19. Instead, I opted to copy a friends hybrid CD's and use my CD-Keys. I was a little unsure about the legality but I have decided that since I already bought the game and Blizzard was going to swap my CD's that it should be OK. After all that, I run it in Windows anyway since the cinematics did not work for me on my Intel iMac.
     

Share This Page