starting into winbloze xp.....

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by Dopeyman, Jul 10, 2006.

  1. Dopeyman macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2005
    Location:
    Los Angeles!
    #1
    Everytime I start into xp, it stops at a select user prompt where I have to click the only user (which is me) and then it'll continue.....

    Is there any way around this where it'll just continue to startup process? I'm the only user that is listed and the only one that uses my computer...

    thanks!
     
  2. eXan macrumors 601

    eXan

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2005
    Location:
    Russia
  3. balamw Moderator

    balamw

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Location:
    New England
    #3
    Here's Microsoft's approach.
    http://support.microsoft.com/default.aspx?scid=kb;en-us;315231

    Is this XP Pro or Home?

    B
     
  4. reh macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2003
    Location:
    Arkansas
    #4
    Install TweakUI from MS's PowerToys. It has an auto-login option as well as a whole bunch of other tweaks.
     
  5. balamw Moderator

    balamw

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Location:
    New England
    #5
    IIRC, the other easy way is to make your default account have no (i.e. blank) password...

    B
     
  6. dmw007 macrumors G4

    dmw007

    Joined:
    May 26, 2005
    Location:
    Working for MI-6
    #6

    This is the method that I used back when I had a PeeCee. :)
     
  7. 4JNA macrumors 68000

    4JNA

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2006
    Location:
    looking for trash files
    #7
    won't work if you have installed the current round of updates (you did install all your updates didn't you, no ice cream unless you install all your updates). even with a blank password, it will still stop at the logon page. :eek:

    tweakui is the lazy way with its fancy auto logon thingy. plus lots more stuff to screw up due to all the nifty 'used to be hidden' options. yummy! buttons!!!! :eek:

    easy (no downloading way) is to click start>run>type 'control userpasswords2' without the ' and hit ok. brings up the oldschool user panel. removed the green checkmark from the 'users must enter...' box at the top and click on 'apply' at the bottom, up comes yet another box, enter your username and password (blank if no password) and click ok. click ok one more time to close the original box, reboot to check and see if you typed your username/password right....

    simple windows tasks in 40 clicks or less. wOOt! ;)
     
  8. Dopeyman thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2005
    Location:
    Los Angeles!
    #8
    Because this forum is called "Windows on the Mac".... And I installed Windows on MY mac.... duh...
     
  9. kevin.rivers macrumors 6502a

    kevin.rivers

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2005
    #9
    You can do it by hand in the registry. Don't remember where exactly.
     
  10. 4JNA macrumors 68000

    4JNA

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2006
    Location:
    looking for trash files
    #10
    Touché :rolleyes:




    edit: resitry hack not a really good idea as then your 'oh so secure' windows password is in the registry for all to see. and yes, there is a script to call this value the next time you go looking for porn with internet explorer...:eek:
     
  11. Electro Funk macrumors 65816

    Electro Funk

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2005
    Location:
    The Opium Garden
    #11
    i believe there is also an option under the control panel / user accounts that will let you auto login @ boot.
     
  12. Bern macrumors 68000

    Bern

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2004
    Location:
    Australia
    #12
    And I just accepted it as just one of those Windows annoyances to live with.
     
  13. Dopeyman thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2005
    Location:
    Los Angeles!
    #13

    Yup.. all my updates have been downloaded and installed....

    But I did your "easy (no downloading way)" and it worked..... thanks!!

    So now everytime I startup windows xp pro w/bootcamp, it goes straight to the desktop w/out stopping..... that's what I wanted.... thanks again!!!!
     
  14. eXan macrumors 601

    eXan

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2005
    Location:
    Russia
    #14
    Because on this forum ppl discus problems of installing Win on Mac etc, but not completely-Windows issues.
     
  15. kouljackson macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2006
    #15
    Here's why windows sucks, onceyou have the fix, you'll get REALLY into windows stuff and have to download something called the .NET framwork, after installing .net you'll have to go through the steps and create an auto login again! Hurray for windows!
     
  16. balamw Moderator

    balamw

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Location:
    New England
    #16
    I frankly don't know how or why, but my XP install on my iMac has all the latest patches, but still doesn't require me to see the logon screen, and I know I didn't set the password into the registry. Know I need to go reboot into Windows and see how that is set up. :confused:

    EDIT: I have only one account (of ype "computer administrator" ) on that install with no passowrd defined, and the uest account is disabled. I don't get the welcome screen unless I specifically log out and can log back in by just clicking the icon.

    B
     

Share This Page