Static and a PowerMate

Discussion in 'General Mac Discussion' started by pEZ, Jun 26, 2003.

  1. pEZ macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2003
    Location:
    Madison, Wisconsin
    #1
    I have a Griffin PowerMate. I little while back, when the air was drier, I severely zapped itwith static, and it looked like I had killed it. I unplugged it from the USB port and tried a different port, and the PowerMate turned out to be fine. The USB port it was plugged into at first, however, seems to be fried - nothing plugged into that particular port works now.

    Any suggestions as to how to fix it, or should I just plug in a hub and let it go?
     
  2. pEZ thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2003
    Location:
    Madison, Wisconsin
  3. ibookin' macrumors 65816

    ibookin'

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2002
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    #3
    Is the machine in question under warranty? If so, Apple may fix it for you.

    Thanks for the warning, though. I'll be a little more careful using my PowerMate now.
     
  4. pEZ thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2003
    Location:
    Madison, Wisconsin
    #4
    unfortunately, no. My iMac was under warranty until April, but i couldn't get it to a service center/apple store before then.
     
  5. Daveman Deluxe macrumors 68000

    Daveman Deluxe

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2003
    Location:
    Corvallis, Oregon
    #5
    I would just get a USB hub and only use the working USB port from now on.

    Static's a bitch, ain't it?
     

Share This Page