Steps to bypass passcode on iPhone 3G OS 2.2

Discussion in 'iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting' started by dong08, Dec 4, 2008.

  1. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2008
    #1
    iPhone setting:*
    - Auto-Lock: 1 Minute;*
    - Passcode Lock: On, require passcode immediately, after 15 min or 4 hours etc;*
    - Network: Turn 3G Off

    Scenario 1: Home screen is active with screen on*
    1. Press power button for seconds until asked to '"slide to power off"
    2. Slide to power off
    3. press power button to turn on iPhone
    4.*When asked to enter passcode, touch the "Cancel" key, then slide to unlock
    5. bypassed passcode

    Scenario 2:*
    1. On the screen of being asked to enter passcode, press power button for seconds until asked to '"slide to power off"
    2.*Slide to power off
    3. press power button to turn on iPhone
    4.*When asked to enter passcode, DO NOT touch any key on the screen, press power button for seconds until asked to '"slide to power off"
    5. Slide to power off
    6. press power button to turn on iPhone
    7.*When asked to enter passcode, touch the "Cancel" key on the right bottom corner, then slide to unlock
    8. bypassed passcode

    Notes:
    1. When Network setting changes to Enable 3G: ON, “3G” signal shows up, passcode CANNOT be passed through
    Go to a underground parking lot or a lift where 3G signal is weak, when 3G signal switches to “E” (Edge), passcode CAN be passed through following above steps
    2. When no 3G or Edge signal, above steps don’t work

    Conclusion:
    Seems passcode security is related to network status
    Possible security hole under Edge

    ref: http://www.glandell.com/iphone/bypass-passcode-os-2.2.html
     
  2. macrumors 6502a

    sergiuria

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2008
    Location:
    Near a bunch of T-Rex
    #2
    Can anyone one confirm this?
     
  3. macrumors 601

    Anonymous Freak

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2002
    Location:
    Cascadia
    #3
    Doesn't work for me. Either method.

    They also closed the "double-click the home key to bring up your quick-dial list in emergency dial" hole.

    If you had the shortcut set so that you could double-click the home key to bring up your quick-dial list; you used to be able to do that when in "emergency dial" mode, and get from there into your entire address book, send an SMS, open a web browser (if you had a URL in one of your contacts,) etc. Basically anything you could do directly from the quick-dial page, you could do. Including moving over to other apps.
     
  4. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2008
    #4
    This works only when 'E' showing on status bar so far.
    I will post some video to show it if I am not busy recently.
    This is a security hole, totally bypass passcode.
     
  5. macrumors 601

    Anonymous Freak

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2002
    Location:
    Cascadia
    #5
    Sorry, tried it again; both on my 3G iPhone with 3G disabled, and my wife's original iPhone. Doesn't work.

    Tried it in a part of the house that I get a roaming signal instead of a native AT&T. Tried it where I don't get any cell signal.

    Tried it with WiFi on and connected, tried it with WiFi on but disconnected, and tried it with WiFi off.

    Tried it in Airplane mode.

    Doesn't work.
     
  6. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2008
    #6
    I have put a video at:

    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4NWORUthyZU

    Try it while iPhone working on Edge and wifi disconnected.

    I have tested on two iPhones, it works as expected.

    If no wireless signal or working on 3G or wifi connected, it does not work.

    If 3G on, try to make signal weak, when iPhone switches to Edge, it also works.

    It is simple, but a little tricky.
     
  7. macrumors 601

    Anonymous Freak

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2002
    Location:
    Cascadia
    #7
    Very odd. I wonder what either I'm doing wrong, or what is different about our phones.
     
  8. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2008
    #8
    So what info do you need to reproduce it?
     
  9. macrumors 601

    Anonymous Freak

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2002
    Location:
    Cascadia
    #9
    I have no idea. I'm following your instructions (and the demo in the video) to the letter.
     
  10. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2011
    #10
    no luck here either...

    I have been trying to exercise this method with a 3GS & it is not working. I have tried numerous ways with various settings...
     
  11. macrumors 6502

    enoC

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2009
    Location:
    Denmark
    #11
    Can I borrow your timemachine?
     

Share This Page