Stereo Receiver Help

Discussion in 'Community Discussion' started by yg17, May 5, 2006.

  1. yg17 macrumors G5

    yg17

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2004
    Location:
    St. Louis, MO
    #1
    A couple weeks ago, I bought a home theater system, and have a Yamaha HTR-5935 receiver. It's a 5.1 system. I finally got around to buying some optical cables, one for my computer (Powermac G5) and one for my PS2. To try out the surround, I tried playing a DVD encoded in 5.1 on my computer. I set the audio to Dolby 5.1 in the setup menu, however, the indicator on my receiver that says what signal its getting shows it's only getting a stereo signal for the front left and right speakers (it should have all 5 speakers indicated). Thinking it was the computer, I tried the DVD in my PS2 and got the same result. I get sound, just not surround. I tried every audio option and tried damn near every option on the receiver. I've also tried 2 different DVDs (Austin Powers Goldmember and Animal House were the 2 I randomly grabbed) Anyone know how to get 5.1 surround working? Thanks
     
  2. eva01 macrumors 601

    eva01

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2005
    Location:
    Gah! Plymouth
    #2
    You do have the PM set to digital out correct?

    in the audio section of system preferences
     
  3. jsw Moderator emeritus

    jsw

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2004
    Location:
    Andover, MA
  4. yg17 thread starter macrumors G5

    yg17

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2004
    Location:
    St. Louis, MO
    #4
    Yep, the PM is set to digital out. I get audio, it's just 2ch stereo, not surround
     
  5. eva01 macrumors 601

    eva01

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2005
    Location:
    Gah! Plymouth
    #5
    In DVD player preferences you have

    Disc Setup >>> Audio to use digital out?

    sorry i am only asking one question at a time, i am kinda busy


    EDIT: have you tested the speakers to make sure they are all connected properly?
     
  6. yg17 thread starter macrumors G5

    yg17

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2004
    Location:
    St. Louis, MO
    #6
    Alright, that worked. I get 5.1 from the Mac. But I'd like to get it from my PS2 since that's what I'd use to watch DVDs.
     
  7. eva01 macrumors 601

    eva01

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2005
    Location:
    Gah! Plymouth
    #7

    well at least i got the Mac to work ^_^ unfortunately i don't own a PS2 so i can't help you there.

    and woohooooo something i know about worked YAY
     
  8. yg17 thread starter macrumors G5

    yg17

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2004
    Location:
    St. Louis, MO
    #8
    Yay, got the PS2 working. You have to wonder why both Sony and Apple would have Dolby output disabled by default.

    Now, with surround, is it common for spoken dialoge to come out of the center speaker? With sound effects and whatnot out of the left and right speakers?
     
  9. jsw Moderator emeritus

    jsw

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2004
    Location:
    Andover, MA
    #9
    I'm guessing most people just use stereo TVs, and/or those who want surround are more likely to figure out how to switch it t that than those who'd want stereo would be to switch it back.
    Absolutely.
     
  10. yg17 thread starter macrumors G5

    yg17

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2004
    Location:
    St. Louis, MO
    #10

    Alright great. Just wanted to make sure something wasn't messed up :D
     
  11. eva01 macrumors 601

    eva01

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2005
    Location:
    Gah! Plymouth
    #11

    well it depends

    if the person is off to the left it should come off the left speakers (from looking at the TV)

    and such like that
     
  12. balamw Moderator

    balamw

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Location:
    New England
    #12
    Most of the manuals I've read (shock! horror!) seem to imply that if you dump DD 5.1 into a digital port that only expects DD 2.0 or PCM you can get horrible noise & potentially blow out your speakers. I guess it has something to do with how it's encoded. So they leave DD 5.1 disabled by default.

    B
     
  13. iris_failsafe macrumors 6502

    iris_failsafe

    Joined:
    May 4, 2004
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    #13
    I had the same problem...

    It made mebought like 3 cables cause i thought that was the problem.

    I assume you are using the optical digital connectors...
    Here is the issue. In the preferences not of the reciever but of the players, select that they output Dolby Digital (5.1 or whatever it says) and not just PCM/Stereo.
     
  14. stubeeef macrumors 68030

    stubeeef

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2004
    #14
  15. abiallan007 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2008
    #15
    Re

    hii....


    Go for Creative or Ken Wood Sound card and u can exp. all kinda things u want :cool:
     
  16. yg17 thread starter macrumors G5

    yg17

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2004
    Location:
    St. Louis, MO
    #16
    Please tell me, because I've always been curious. How the hell do people find 2 and a half year old threads to dig up?
     

Share This Page